Scenario(s) clarification

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Mongolmike, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Ohio
    Reading through various threads got me to thinking about a couple different scenarios... these haven't happened to me, but I also couldn't find clarification in the Code.

    #1- I hit a sharp angled shot that forces my opponent to chase the ball into the neighboring court which is in use. Opponent pulls up and calls a let because he was afraid he'd run into the people on that court. I know the right call is- the shot is good... but is that specified in the code somewhere?

    #2- Ongoing league or tourney match, opponent is losing, says "he's done" because of "an injury". We meet at the net, shake hands, and while still standing at the net (neither has walked off the court), he explains how his back is hurt which prevented him from playing his best. I suspect he isn't really injured and respond something sarcastic like it being just as well because he was really getting his butt kicked. Opponent takes offense (probably rightly so) and now is healthy enough to resume the match and challenges me to continue where we left off.

    I think, not sure and again couldn't find it in the Code, I think if a player verbally concedes, and there is a handshake to conclude the match... it's over, right? Even if the conceder changes his mind, the match is over and official?
     
    #1
  2. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,324
    Location:
    AR
    #1 your opponent can not call a let when he invades his neighbors court, once he leaves the sideline of your court not much he can do but say good shot.

    #2 generally handshakes end a match, but when you act like a ******bag why not keep playing.
     
    #2
  3. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Ohio
    Neither situation has happened to me... just setting up a scenario question.... you answered "generally" handshakes end a match... but in a sanctioned match is that the rule- a handshake ends a match? Or is it the verbal part ends the match? Or is there a time limit the quitting opponent can change his mind? 10 seconds? When he walks off the court? And why would acting like a dbag impact the rule? Again, I'm not talking a pick-up game... but league or tourney.
     
    #3
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,644
    It is actually in the USTA Friend at Court at least 2 times that I can think of that a handshake is an acknowledgement by the players that the match is over.
     
    #4
  5. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thank you.
     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,644
    Sure. Here they are:

    Code #2:
    2.
    Points played in good faith are counted. All points played in good faith stand. For example, if after losing a point, a player discovers that the net was four inches too high, the point stands. If a point is played from the wrong court, there is no replay. If during a point, a player realizes that a mistake was made at the beginning (for example, service from the wrong court), the player shall continue playing the point. Corrective action may be taken only after a point has been completed.

    Shaking hands at the end of a match is an acknowledgment by the players that the match is over.

    Here's another one:


    USTA Comment 27.8:
    Same situation as in USTA Comment 27.7 except
    that Player B shakes hands. The players report to the Referee that Player A won the match tiebreak 7-5. Does Player A win the match?
    Yes. By shaking hands the players have acknowledged that they agreed the match was over. Even though the USTA mandates the use of the 10-Point Match Tiebreak, the 7-Point Tiebreak was played in good faith, so Player A wins the match, and the final set score should be recorded 1-0(5). (See The Code § 2.)

    From the Glossary:
    Handshake.
    By shaking hands the players have acknowledged that they agree the match was over.


     
    #6
  7. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Ohio
    Winner! Your prize check is in the mail.
     
    #7
  8. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,644
    Now one match I umpired at the Challenger in Champaign, IL had an interesting situation. It was a doubles semifinal or final, and Justin Gimelstob was injured, and didn't want to finish the match, so he retired, but he was right at the net when the point ended, and he just shook the other team's hands and said that was it. The supervisor was out by the court, and let him know that because they retired, him and his partner would receive prize money and ranking points for the previous round (as that was a new rule that year to cut down on the amount of players that would retire or withdraw prior to a doubles weekend match in order to get to the next tourmanent for singles qualifying). Gimelstob felt bad about that, since he just screwed his partner, and because it was very close to the end of the match, he asked the supervisor if they could continue, and he would just tank the last game or so to complete the match. All the players agreed, and the supervisor reluctantly agreed.

    Gimelstob and his partner went back on the court and tanked the next 2 games and the other team still won. Gimelstob was legitimately injured and had he known that rule, he probably would have continued without saying anything.
     
    #8
  9. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wow. I understand Gimelstob's intention, but I can't believe the supervisor agreed... unless he was "advised" to do so, so as to not jeopardize future involvement of top players?
     
    #9

Share This Page