Scoring a retired match due to injury in USTA

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by tennis_tater, Mar 31, 2012.

  1. tennis_tater

    tennis_tater Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    I saw a league match this week where the match didn't even make it out of the first game before one of the doubles players tore his achilles and the match had to stop. Despite the fact the score was 40-40 and no games had been won, the winning team entered the score as 6-0, 6-0 retired. Certainly, that can't be right. Anyone know or can cite to the rule on this? Would tennis link even allow you to enter the score as 40-40 retired?
     
    #1
  2. TimothyO

    TimothyO Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,600
    Location:
    Baseline
    That doesn't sound right since it messes with win percentages and points for the season. I don't play USTA but under other scoring systems that team just gave themselves a huge advantage in points without having earned those games.

    It should have been 0-0, 0-0, Retired. I imagine the system could handle that.
     
    #2
  3. cll30

    cll30 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I played in a doubles match in a USTA tournament where the score was entered as 30-0 and then we retired. My doubles partner had played in several tough singles matches and was starting to cramp up and knew that he would not be able to play a full doubles match that day. In order for us to play in the doubles consolation, which would be played the next day, we had to go on the court and at least start the first round match, which we did. Since we did that we were then able to play a doubles consolation match the next day.
     
    #3
  4. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    DE
    I have played two matches where the opponent retired. In both matches the current game score was entered and then indicated as retired. I don't know what you would do if neither team had not yet won a game?

    An example from my past 4-6, 6-0, 5-0 (ret) ... (the opponent retired at love - 40 in the 6th game of the third set)
     
    #4
  5. Local Girl

    Local Girl New User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    This is from the USTA League Tennis Regulations:
    2.03M Retirement. A retirement occurs when an individual match has started and a player/doubles team is unable to continue due to
    injury, loss of condition, emergency or refusal to play.
    2.03N Scoring of Retirements. In case of a retirement, the nonretiring
    player/doubles team shall be credited with such number of
    additional games as would have been won if the match was completed
    and the non-retiring player/doubles team won every subsequent game.
    For NTRP computer data entry in TennisLink, mark as retired and
    submit actual scores of match at the point of retirement
    .​

    In the case of the 40-40 in the first game, the game was not completed, so based on the above rules, looks to me the score should have been entered as 0-0.
     
    #5
  6. Local Girl

    Local Girl New User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Forgot to include that TennisLink only accepts scores by sets and games. So since the retirement occurred in the first game, no games were completed in the first set. If the first game had been completed, then player retired before the start of the second game, then the score input would be 0-1 or 1-0.
     
    #6
  7. floridatennisdude

    floridatennisdude Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,975
    That guy must have really not wanted to accept defeat. Funny. He could have just tapped in a serve to see if you could smack a winner.
     
    #7
  8. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    DE
    Well ... I am not totally blameless in this case. The guy was not injured but he claimed to be in an attempt to prove a point, although it is not clear what point he was proving.

    In this case he won the first set by blatantly cheating us on a couple line calls in big situations. It was a little contentious after that and I was way more motivated after the first set. When it came time to play the third we had an option to play a match tiebreak if we preferred. It was about 96 degrees that day and I insisted we play it out knowing that hit fat *** could not handle it. I think I may have even said as much to him. Any who, we were one point short of a golden set when he said he could not handle the heat anymore and it was crazy to play it out. I probably deserved not getting the golden set based on my behavior that day.
     
    #8
  9. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,427
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    The way I read those rules is that the current game score when the retirement occurred should be used as a basis for the final score which is entered. You just take the current score and assume that every game after that is won by the non-retiring team so that they would win the match. For example if the retiring team was up 5-4 in the first set, the score for that set would be entered 5-7 and the second set score would be entered 0-6. If the retiring team was down 4-5 in the first set at the time of the retirement, they would be shown as losing that set 4-6 and also losing the second set 0-6.

    In the case of the match in question, since no games had been won when the retirement occurred, the retiring team's score should be entered as 0-6, 0-6, which it appears is what was done.
     
    #9
  10. Herdsman76

    Herdsman76 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Not sure if this helps but I had to retire from a match in a tournament and in order to get credit for my previous wins, I had to play at least one point. So the score was registered as 15-0 Retired. I got my points from the previous wins and my opponent got the win....
     
    #10
  11. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,166
    Looks like the first part of 2.03N is completely at odds with the second part, the way I read it.
     
    #11
  12. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    I don't know whether this varies from area to area, but this is a direct quote from the NorCal captain's handbook:

    RETIREMENT?
    Enter Match Status as RETIRED.
    Click the circle to indicate the winning team (the team that did not retire).
    Enter the scores exactly as they were when the retirement occurred. Do not round up. Do not add 6-0, or anything, to a set not played or not completed. (Exception: a retirement that occurs when a team is playing a full third set cannot be entered as anything other than 1-0 in favor of the team that is receiving the retirement.)

    Link: http://www.norcal.usta.com/Leagues-...vised_Table_of_Contents/#aPosting_a_Scorecard
     
    #12
  13. catfish

    catfish Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    792
    I saw this happen one time in my area. If I remember correctly, the score had to be entered as 1-0, 0-0 retired, even though the first game was not completed. I don't think Tennis Link will accept a 0-0, 0-0 match.

    Defaults are entered as 6-0, 6-0. People seem to confuse Defaults with Retiring.
     
    #13
  14. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    nevermind. I was thinking this was for tournaments. Just realized it's a league thing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2012
    #14
  15. catfish

    catfish Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    792
    Right. It's for USTA leagues. There have been a lot of Tennis Link updates, so it probably will accept a 0-0 score now. I'm not sure.
     
    #15
  16. Local Girl

    Local Girl New User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    TennisLink adjusts the team standings with the additional games. So even though the scorecard shows unfinished sets, the team standings will show full sets and games being lost. But I think if the retirement occurs in the first set, the combined number of games played in the first set has to be at least 6 (i.e. 4-2) before TennisLink will adjust the team standings for sets lost and games lost.

    I know for sure that 6-0; 6-0 scores do not count towards a player's year-end NTRP rating. Mainly because the NTRP system cannot distinguish between a default and a blow-out.
     
    #16
  17. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,427
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    I am also confused by what appear to be contradictory statements in 2.03N.

    2.03N Scoring of Retirements. In case of a retirement, the nonretiring
    player/doubles team shall be credited with such number of
    additional games as would have been won if the match was completed
    and the non-retiring player/doubles team won every subsequent game
    .

    versus this part:

    For NTRP computer data entry in TennisLink, mark as retired and
    submit actual scores of match at the point of retirement.

    How can you be credited with something if you aren't entering it in TennisLink?
     
    #17
  18. Local Girl

    Local Girl New User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    The "credit" of number of additional games is shown in the Team Standings "Individual Wins", "Sets Lost" and "Games Lost". TennisLink adds to actual games/sets entered in the scorecord for the retired match.
     
    #18
  19. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,166
    Thanks for the clarification.
     
    #19
  20. G34

    G34 New User

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    So. Cal Inland Empire
    Retired

    I had played a USTA league game this past weekend and my opponent couldn't finish the match.

    It was scored 3-6, 6-4, 0-1
     
    #20
  21. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,581
    That looks like your opponent retired in the 3rd set tie breaker which is always scored as 1-0 or 0-1 regardless of the score
     
    #21
  22. G34

    G34 New User

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    So. Cal Inland Empire
    He won the first game of the 3rd set and I was serving the 2nd game. He then decided to default the match.
     
    #22
  23. Local Girl

    Local Girl New User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Hi everyone. Need your opinion on how a retired match should be entered into TennisLink. If anyone is a league coordinator, sure would appreciate your input.

    This just happened in two District playoff matches:

    1) Second Doubles - Team A v. Team B. Team A won the first set 6-4, then retired with no games played in the second set. Consequently, Team B won this match by retirement. The score was entered into TennisLink as: 6-4 and Team B was marked as the "winner".

    2) Third Doubles - Team C v. Team D. Team C won the first set 7-5, and was ahead 3-0 in the second set. Team C then retired. Consequently, Team D won this match by retirement. The score was entered into TennisLink as: 7-5, 3-0 and Team D was marked as the "winner".

    As far as I know, actual match scores entered in Tennislink should be reflected from the winning (non-retiring) team's perspective. So in #1, the score should have been entered as 4-6, and in #2 the score should have been entered as 5-7; 0-3.

    Thanks for your help.
     
    #23

Share This Page