serena jennifer

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by swisser, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. swisser

    swisser Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    what happend at the us open with capriati and serena
     
    #1
  2. Arafel

    Arafel Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,154
    In a quarterfinal match in 2004, with Serena up a set, and at 4-4 in the second, at 30-30 on Williams serve, the two got into a long rally. Williams pounded a backhand down the line that landed a few inches inside the line and was called good by the linesman, but for some unknown reason the umpire overruled it and called it out. Capriati had not even looked at the call, knowing it was good, but took the overrule. When questioned about it in the presser, Capriati made some excuse about how she wasn't sure and she had gotten bad calls against her before and felt she should play by the umpire's call. I'm not a Williams fan at all, but this call is one of the worst ever in the history of tennis. It totally changed the course of the match, and Capriati won in three.

    Here's a youtube link to a video of the call:

    http://youtube.com/watch?v=S2oDnzcEkjs
     
    #2
  3. Bones08

    Bones08 Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    831
    Great Write Up....I mean the call wasn't even close...I don't know what Mariana Alves was looking at but she clearly can't see.
     
    #3
  4. kingdaddy41788

    kingdaddy41788 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,753
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Wow. That was pretty bad. I mean... really, really bad. Any umpire knows they have no business overruling a call on the other side of the court like that.
     
    #4
  5. Swingin Richard

    Swingin Richard Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Was that Drakulie in the umpires chair? Only a guy that hates Serena as much as he does could make that call. Wow.
     
    #5
  6. theballboy

    theballboy Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    This was ALMOST as bad as the "phantom point" awarded to one of Venus's opponents durign a match, where the ump gave the other player a point for NO REASON during a tiebreak. It was inane.
     
    #6
  7. LarougeNY

    LarougeNY Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    Ny
    It always seems like its either serena or venus that get the bad calls at big points in a match. I remember wimbledon when she hit a shot that was even more in than this one and the umpire called it out, serena responded by saying "I know my shots, and that shot was in".
    Can't believe that umpire is still ump-ing at grandslams. Sorry if that didn't sound right.
     
    #7
  8. FuriousYellow

    FuriousYellow Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,485
    Yeah, I remember that. Fortunately, Fat-triati was taken out in the next round by Dementieva.

    If anything good came out of that, it was the introduction of the player challenge system so the players at least have some recourse available.

    Maybe they should rename it to "Serena-Spot".:)
     
    #8
  9. RafaN RichardG

    RafaN RichardG Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    760
    hahahah
    he'd say "the rules say that the umpire can overrule the linesmen, so nothing wrong happened"
     
    #9
  10. tkauffm

    tkauffm Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Oregon
    I can't believe that happend. Too bad there wasn't any challenge system then, it could have easily been resolved.
     
    #10
  11. Rhino

    Rhino Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,474
    Location:
    South of London, west of Moscow
    Yeah that was possibly the worst call I can remember seeing, quite incredible,
     
    #11
  12. jelle v

    jelle v Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,978
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wasn't there another horrible call in that match? A net-serve from Serena or something that was called out?
     
    #12

Share This Page