Serve Coach

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by loveForTheGame, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. loveForTheGame

    loveForTheGame New User

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Hi Folks!

    I am desperatly looking for a very good and professionial serve coach. Where do I find the best serve choaches in the world and how much do they take per hour (just about).

    I clocked my serve 4 years ago at 105 mph(in) without proper pronation and with some other technical flaws. Meanwhile, I tryed a few new things and every once in a while I "feel" it and it really cracks up. I can tell by the sound and speed, it chances in a new dimension. Those serves seem effordlessly, come from a high hitting point, have some unintentional extra kick, a good good net and line clearance. Ironically them seem to be perfect 2nd serves! As a matter of fact, I can not reproduces them constantly.

    So I am looking for a real serve pro!

    Thanks for so much for your help :)
     
    #1
  2. 10s talk

    10s talk Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    most good pros can teach the serve
     
    #2
  3. larry10s

    larry10s Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976
    pat dougherty "the serve doctor" at bollitierri academy. approx $125 hr i think. its worth it!!!
    this dvd is also excellent by him
    http://www.servedoctor.com/
     
    #3
  4. 10s talk

    10s talk Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    572

    good stuff
     
    #4
  5. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,476
    Location:
    So Cal
    Thanks for the link.

    I've been telling people to think Phone Booth - pretty much the same thing.

    He's got a great 'average guy' delivery of his lessons. Sort of the Dr. Phil of serving.
     
    #5
  6. loveForTheGame

    loveForTheGame New User

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Hey thanks for the link, he's the guy! Florida, say hello!
     
    #6
  7. ProgressoR

    ProgressoR Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,005
    Location:
    No Man's Land
    OP where are you based?
     
    #7
  8. GuyClinch

    GuyClinch Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,806
    Yeah go to Pat if you want the best in the world..IMHO. Tell us how much it costs in hour if you go down there.
     
    #8
  9. GetBetterer

    GetBetterer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    I don't think you need someone that expensive (counting airline ticket) just to get a decent serve.

    Try going to your nearest tennis camp or something, I'm sure there are coaches that can help you easily. Just say you want to serve like a Pro and they can help you get the foot push down, the stance, the ball toss and everything.

    Especially if you can get 105 with a few technical flaws, I'm sure you won't have to get much fixed.
     
    #9
  10. loveForTheGame

    loveForTheGame New User

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    In Germany.
     
    #10
  11. GetBetterer

    GetBetterer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Then write to Tommy Haas.

    Maybe if he's in a nice mood, he'll teach you. After all, he did attend Bolletieri's academy along with the fact that he has a great serve.
     
    #11
  12. tricky

    tricky Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,305
    Whatever the cost, worth every bit.
     
    #12
  13. loveForTheGame

    loveForTheGame New User

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I talked to quite a few good teaching pro's here in Germany(even those who write the teaching guidelines). They told me what's wrong: No pronation, just clapping of the hand, forward racket movement, and bending and early opening of the body(The 105 mph are mainly a result of my pitching arm and strong legs). They told me how to fix it. And I tryed lots of things, directing the throw up, keeping the left arm longer in the air, training with short handle for pronation. It just keeps to get more complicated and even less fluid (Maybe cause I started tennis at only at age 20). Pat seems to have a totally different approach of rebuilding a stroke which makes sense to me. I will probalbly give it a try. Of course it would be cool to find a serve pro in Europe.
     
    #13
  14. julian

    julian Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,246
    Location:
    Bedford,Massachusetts,US
    Pilic Academy

    Please investigate an option below
    Niki Pilic - Tennis Akademie
    - [ Translate this page ]
    Es wird die Tennis-Schule in D-85764 Oberschleißheim, deren Aktivitäten, Personal, sowie die Anlage vorgestellt.
    Preisliste - Tenniscamps 2010: In ... - Aktuelle Studenten - Team
    www.tennis-academy-niki-pilic.de/ - Cached - Similar

    Another options
    City State ZIP Professional/coach Personal Web site Phone number
    Wallduern-Altheim 74731 Michael Braun michaelbraun.usptapro.com 49-62818708
    Dallgow-Dalberitz 14624 Peter Dietrich peterdietrich.usptapro.com 033201-21020
    Bad Saulgau 88348 Simon Finlayson simonfinlayson.usptapro.com
    Aalen 73431 Frank Fuhrmann frankfuhrmann.usptapro.com
    Stuttgart 70619 Jens Gerlach jensgerlach.usptapro.com 49-1638043050
    Eltville 1 65343 Rudi Iflinger rudiiflinger.usptapro.com 0611-27167
    Heidelberg 69124 Alex Kukaras alexkukaras.usptapro.com 49-1726644369
    Bad Nenndorf 31542 Brandon Lee brandonlee.usptapro.com
    Rosdorf 37124 Ricardo Morte ricardomorte.usptapro.com 49-1724151086
    Bammental 69245 Alberto Rodriguez Montero albertorodriguezmontero.usptapro.com
    Munich 81241 Peter Smith petersmith33.usptapro.com
    Voelklingen 66333 Denise Valentin denisevalentin.usptapro.com 496802493
    Bad Windsheim 91438 Waldemar Vogelgesang waldemarvogelgesang.usptapro.com 98-41-73-71
    Beckedorf 31699 Scott Wittenberg scottwittenberg.usptapro.com
    Germering 82110 Miranda Yates-Steg mirandayates-steg.usptapro.com 0170-4089557
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
    #14
  15. mike53

    mike53 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    978
    #15

Share This Page