Serving at the net guy in doubles?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by tennis_hack, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. tennis_hack

    tennis_hack Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,826
    Apparently if the server hits a serve at the net guy and it hits the net guy before the ball bounces, the server wins the point, as he can claim that he put such awesome side-spin on the ball that the ball would have curved back into the service box if the net guy didn't get in the way of it.

    Because of this, a doubles couple I play against will very frequently smack hard serves straight at the net guy, hoping to claim a free point if the net guy can't duck out of the way of the serve in time.

    Is this a legit tactic?
     
    #1
  2. Yes, I base my whole game off of this strategy. At the start of the match I hit them at least twice per service game.

    Then my opponents start jumping around to dodge my serves. I call out a hindirance and get free points that way too.

    Eventually they stand at the back of the court and me and my partner can control the net from there on out.

    I am a 6.0 doubles player btw.
     
    #2
  3. mad dog1

    mad dog1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,878
    OMG, i can't stop laughing. great post!
     
    #3
  4. Topspin Shot

    Topspin Shot Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5,102
    Yes, it's a legit tactic, but it's a pretty stupid one since anyone can dodge a serve, and I guarantee you that if you did that to me, I would wait till I got a sitter overhead and smash it at your face so hard that you would wish you were 50,000,000 km behind the baseline.

    Also, congratulations on making yet another troll thread.
     
    #4
  5. StringingIrvine

    StringingIrvine Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Irvine, Southern California
    True story, i've played with him before and it turned out to be pretty fun. We ended up losing the match because my partner nor I could continue due to injuries caused by being hit by his serve.

    It was fun to try and dodge his serve but in the end MurrayMyInspiration's tactic was too hard to overcome.
     
    #5
  6. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Tell us more. What happens at the handshake?
     
    #6
  7. No hard feelings right?
     
    #7
  8. Avles

    Avles Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    The Peak of Good Living
    Not only that-- the rules say that if you hit the net man so hard that he is unable to continue play, you win the whole match.

    Legit tactic?
     
    #8
  9. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36,436
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    Good way to lose a lot of points really quickly.
    You waste your first serve going at the netperson.
    So you essentially play with ONE serve....your second serve.
    And if you were sooo good you could actually hit your first serve within a 2' box, why don't you just hit aces over and over?
     
    #9
  10. Silent

    Silent Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    799
    How satisfying it must be playing that way.

    So much for self-growth.
     
    #10
  11. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,130
    The key is to intentionally hit the ball off the frame at the net person so that they think it is an accident.
     
    #11
  12. tyu1314

    tyu1314 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Stony Brook,NY
    The key of this tactic is to injured them badly before your service game is over, if not they will use the same tactic against you. If you are up 40-0 and they are still standing, double fault it to 40-40, dont let the game end if they can still play.
     
    #12
  13. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    The "net" guy on the receiving team typically stands behind the service line near the T so hitting them on a first serve seems pretty unlikely.
     
    #13
  14. McLovin

    McLovin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190
    I have used this tactic in the past, but only in response to the other team's tactic by crowding the net & 'T', essentially standing very close to the center strap of the net.

    And for those who say it's easy to dodge that serve, apparently you've never faced people w/ 120MPH serves (not mine as I top out ~ 105). Believe me, if you're crowding the net, and they crack one in the 120MPH range, there is nothing you can do. 120MPH results in 176 ft/s. It is 39ft from the baseline to the net, which essentially gives you 1/4 of a second to react. Trust me, if they hit the right serve, there's nothing you can do but bend over & take it like a man...
     
    #14
  15. Fedinkum

    Fedinkum Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,320
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    You crack me up, so evil, but funny...:):):)
     
    #15
  16. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,130
    Never really thought about that before. Of course, it is easy to volley 125+ mph serves if you are standing at the net, but you only need to move your racket in front of the ball. If you are trying to avoid a serve hit right at you, you have to move your entire body out of the way. If it is a total surprise and you ave moving toward the net to cut off a ball, this could be very difficult. (Of course, if wouldn't be difficult if you were static at the service line.)
     
    #16
  17. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36,436
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    I don't know about you guys, but I find it hard to place my fastest first serves within a one foot box....like needed to hit someone.
    And if I could do that, hit within a one foot box, why not just hit an ace serve?
     
    #17

Share This Page