Serving Behind the Alley...Is That Allowed?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by 10nisNe1?, Mar 22, 2004.

  1. 10nisNe1?

    10nisNe1? Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    I think Ill get more response here so Ill post this here. Can you stand and serve beyond the singles line (basically between the singles and doubles line)? Our opponent said that since we're playing doubles, hes allowed to served there. Is this correct?
     
    #1
  2. Morpheus

    Morpheus Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Yes. In doubles, you can serve from the alley. In singles, you can serve as far out as the singles line.
     
    #2
  3. 10nisNe1?

    10nisNe1? Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    i see. i thought that since the service box remains the same on doubles, the serving rules also remains as it is on singles. hehehe...silly me.
     
    #3
  4. Bungalo Bill

    Bungalo Bill G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    11,885
    Morpheus is correct!
     
    #4

Share This Page