Serving Rules

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by QuietDaze, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. QuietDaze

    QuietDaze Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ok, had a match this past Sunday but anyway, I always thought that if you decided to catch the ball and start over you could catch it on your racquet. Well, when I did that, the chick looked a little strange when I called 'first serve' before I served. So I paid it no attention, then later in the game I did it again and she made a loud sighing noise. I don't know if she was annoyed or if she thought the ball wasn't allowed to touch the racquet if I didn't complete the serve.

    I hardly ever let the ball bounce after my toss, I usually catch it with my racquet. I checked the rules and it clearly states you ARE allowed to catch it with your racquet so I wasn't wrong in doing so.

    Has anyone ever had an opponent complain about catching the ball on the racquet? I can't remember ever seeing the pros do it so maybe that's why she thought it was wrong?
     
    #1
  2. Bodacious DVT

    Bodacious DVT Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    she probably just thought it was annoying or something. as long as you dont swing at it, you can catch it.
     
    #2

Share This Page