Serving toss and catch with raquet

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by chatt_town, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    So we are at a tourney this weekend. This guy throws his toss up for his second serve and catches it with his raquet. Is that a double fault or still second serve? The guy on the other side took the point and said that the ball could not first touch the guys raquet without being caught or hitting the ground first. Another guy on the side with us said it was bs as the server had to go into a service motion first which he did not. What's the rule?
     
    #1
  2. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    This. Previously answered by Woodrow here.
     
    #2
  3. ibeeskeef

    ibeeskeef New User

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    I don't have the rule number in front of me but you are allowed to toss the ball and if you do not make a service motion then the ball can bounce, be caught by hand or be caught by racket without a service being counted. Short answer, it is not a double fault to toss the ball and catch it on your racket and long as you did not make a service attempt.
     
    #3
  4. Figjam

    Figjam Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    DENVER
    I believe you're wrong, touching the ball with the racket constitutes as putting the ball in play.
    What if they guy was trying to serve underhanded?
     
    #4
  5. bcart1991

    bcart1991 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA
    If he makes an attempt to hit the ball, then yes, it would be considered a fault. If he does not make said attempt, then no fault.
     
    #5
  6. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    from the official USTA rules

    Case 1: After tossing a ball to serve, the server decides not to hit it and
    catches it instead. Is this a fault?
    Decision: No. A player, who tosses the ball and then decides not to hit it, is
    allowed to catch the ball with the hand or the racket, or to let the ball bounce.
     
    #6

Share This Page