Should the Service "Let" be axed?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by jimbo333, Jul 2, 2009.

?

Should the Service "Let" be axed?

Poll closed Aug 31, 2009.
  1. Yes

    25 vote(s)
    24.3%
  2. No

    72 vote(s)
    69.9%
  3. Don't Mind

    6 vote(s)
    5.8%
  1. ubermeyer

    ubermeyer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Texas
    no, definitely not.
     
    #51
  2. luckyboy1300

    luckyboy1300 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,796
    a serve is a lot difficult to return than a normal groundstroke. why add to the difficulty by allowing a net cord on a serve? service lets should stay imo.
     
    #52
  3. ScoopsHaaganDazs

    ScoopsHaaganDazs Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    No. That would be unfair if it hits the net, and drops a few centimeters from the net with little bounce. Hitting an ace is totally different from having a dead ball. The lets make perfect sense. No reason to get rid of it. No need to add another factor of tennis that luck could ruin. As for the groundstrokes, I wouldn't want to have a good rally that could abruptly end just because it hit the net cord. Netcord shots are frowned upon, but leaving them in would be better. I was never a fan of redoing points except for lets on a serve.
     
    #53
  4. jimbo333

    jimbo333 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,003
    Location:
    Windsor, England
    We seem to be in the minority:-|
     
    #54
  5. JamaicanYoute

    JamaicanYoute Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Wow, why can't people just leave the game how it is? This is how it has been and how it will be.

    It would be too unfair (as people have mentioned) to win a match/grand slam by a service let. And it's not the same as a ground stroke let. A ground stroke let, the point is already in play. A service let is replayed because the point hasn't started, and should be started regularly.

    This would be horrible - so now not only can they play it, but the server has to play a guessing game to see if the returner will play it? And the whole point of serving is so that you can have the advantage. That's why we switch every game. Why change a rule so that the returner can have an advantage? He'll get his turn in the next game.
     
    #55
  6. WillAlwaysLoveYouTennis

    WillAlwaysLoveYouTennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,735
    Location:
    Deutschland
    Of two minds on that. In some ways, yes, just like in volleyball...you play it off the net, to your advantage or disadvantage. No, in that, some with a certain type of serve: flatter (less high over the net like a topspin serve), would have more which hit the tape and likely dribble over or drop short. Certain ones might have an advantage in that and use it so that it could quickly become frustratingly comical that a serve can't be returned because its, skimming the net and dropping short a lot. And the returner's natural rhythm and instinct is constantly thrown off.
     
    #56
  7. defrule

    defrule Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    I guess first serves will be about net cord aces.
     
    #57
  8. jimbo333

    jimbo333 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,003
    Location:
    Windsor, England
    The LET was introduced to give the returner a fair chance to return the ball, and start the rally. This was before the ACE existed. The LET is now not irrelevant therefore. If someone is accurate (and stupid enough) to aim for a LET service winner, then they can try that if they like (good luck to them)!

    It is time for the service LET to be treated like all other LET's. There are as many possible ACE's stopped because of service LET's as there are dribble over the net LET's. It will all probaly balance out. Service LET's are just annoying and it's time for them to go in my opinion!
     
    #58
  9. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,426
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    No you don't. Serves are different from groundstrokes and have their own specific rules such as where you must stand and how many chances you get to hit a legal one. Serves and groundstokes are apples and oranges. If we apply your consistency rule we'd have to do away with second serves wouldn't we since there are no 'second groundstrokes'.
     
    #59
  10. SourStraws

    SourStraws Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    They were going to but I think Patrick Rafter spoke against it...

    S.S.
     
    #60
  11. abmk

    abmk G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    15,980
    Location:
    U.S
    No, No and No
     
    #61
  12. Netspirit

    Netspirit Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4,245
    Location:
    Snoqualmie, WA
    I would say yes.

    Any net touch should be a fault. Plain and simple.
     
    #62

Share This Page