so i missed a cross.

Discussion in 'Strings' started by kchau, Jul 1, 2006.

  1. kchau

    kchau Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    792
    -_-, how the heck do i miss a cross.

    i just wasted half sets of spiky and lw.

    lucky i didnt go hit with it yet.


    just venting.
     
    #1
  2. carlosfernando

    carlosfernando New User

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    how in the world did you miss a cross?
    that is almost impossible?

    You have to be more careful when you string:mrgreen:
     
    #2
  3. kchau

    kchau Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    792
    i forgot to weave 1 more before making my starting knot, 1st time i've ever missed a cross after strining 100+ sticks
     
    #3
  4. Bent

    Bent Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Is it your own racket ?

    If so, it doesn´t matter.

    I've done this a few times and could not tell any diff.

    But if it is not your own racket - Big problem !!!!
     
    #4
  5. equinox

    equinox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,223
    Location:
    Cocos Islands, WA
    Don't worry about it. Everyone makes mistakes.
     
    #5
  6. Saito

    Saito Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    833
    Were you high?? :lol: lol j/k

     
    #6
  7. kchau

    kchau Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    792
    it was my stick, so its ok, but i wasted time doing it.
     
    #7
  8. Tomba

    Tomba Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    You might get more spin. :)
     
    #8
  9. mitchell_ota

    mitchell_ota New User

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Wailuku, Maui, HI
    we all make mistakes like that. One time I was stringing my racquet around the world, and I miscounted the holes so I weaved my bottom cross the wrong way and didn't catch it until the very last weave when I look and saw that the bottom two crosses were weaved the same...and I thought I was doing okay. It just tends to make us more careful in the long run, and usually these mistakes are few and far in between.
     
    #9
  10. brucie

    brucie Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,318
    Yeah dont worry itll play far better!
     
    #10
  11. ace of spades

    ace of spades Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    573
    Actually when I first starded stringing (2-3months ago) I would misweave a bunch of crosses and the racket still played fine. Although I could tell the stringbed was slightly off, it felt like it had some wierd benefits.
    Like one time I wove the top 3rd and 4th crosses the same, and when I hit kick serves, I usually hit the top 1/3 of the stringbed. And since the mains of that area were more "protruding" or "defined" in the stringbed, when I hit a kick serve, it bounced up higher than ever before. After a day of kick serves jumping like mad, I inspected my racket, and then discovered this- it wasnt in my head.
     
    #11
  12. ThePlungerMan

    ThePlungerMan Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    It's not the first time someone has missed a cross.
    Confess this sin to Jesus Christ, repent, then He will forgive you. :D
     
    #12
  13. raftermania

    raftermania Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,626
    Location:
    Ontario
    If you miss a cross in the sweetspot he'll notice
     
    #13
  14. slice bh compliment

    slice bh compliment G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,029
    You think your frame might crack?
    Probably not, but why take the chance?

    Hey, re: a misweave....noone will ever bust you on it, but I think a misweave violates the ITF rule that a string pattern must be uniform.
     
    #14
  15. jck01

    jck01 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    488
    A friend of mine got his racquet strung at a pro shop and they missed the bottom-most cross-string. When I told him that the bottom-most cross-string is missing, he couldn't believe it. I wouldn't have believed it if I didn't see it either. His racquet doesn't use up a lot of string (16x18 pattern).

    My guess is the stringer messed up and cut too much of it off when he worked on the main strings.

    In any case, he played fine with the missing cross-string.
     
    #15
  16. diredesire

    diredesire Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,720
    Actually, i believe there is no violation by missing the outermost cross, IIRC, the only criteria is that the pattern of strings are interwoven without any abnormalities in the pattern (like the center of the strings being more open than the peripheral). He might actually be safe by "the book" (weird enough as that is).

    FWIW: You're probably safe structurally and as far as playability goes if you just want to hit with the strings. When you're stringing for yourself, it's frustrating to make the mistake, but just know the playability can be slightly altered with it.
     
    #16
  17. kchau

    kchau Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    792
    i cut it and restrung :)
     
    #17
  18. slice bh compliment

    slice bh compliment G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,029
    Yeah, I wasn't talking about a missed cross. I was talking about a misweave.
     
    #18
  19. ace of spades

    ace of spades Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    573
    Oh I was talking about a misweave too.
     
    #19
  20. retroceso

    retroceso Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    play with it , it might be a new break through. and it will be named after you
     
    #20
  21. Exile

    Exile Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,049
    so technically, a whole bunch of misweaves, uniform, is legal?
     
    #21
  22. tennispr()

    tennispr() Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    if u miss weave will it affect the play
     
    #22
  23. kchau

    kchau Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    792
    no but its illegal
     
    #23

Share This Page