Talking while in serve motion

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Majik, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. Majik

    Majik Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Is it considered a bad "code" violation to talk in someone's serve motion?

    I have the same serve motion for about a year now, and everyone I play knows the sequence of my serve style. I played someone the other day who knows my serve very well say, "Just serve the ball", just as I was tossing the ball into the air. I consider this extremely rude. Can it be considered a hinderance from which I can extract a point? Thanks.
     
    #1
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    It can be, if it's actually in the service motion. But why is your serve routine so noticeable and seemingly irritable to your opponents? How much time are you taking between points?
     
    #2
  3. tennisdad65

    tennisdad65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,030
    Location:
    somewhere in calif
    What's the 'sequence of your serve style' ? :)
     
    #3
  4. polski

    polski Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Florida
    I have a feeling it's "taking his sweet old Nadal time" based on the communication he received.

    That being said, yes it is a hindrance for your opponent to talk directly to you in mid-swing. It is not if it is before your toss.
     
    #4
  5. tennisdad65

    tennisdad65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,030
    Location:
    somewhere in calif
    I have seen a recreational doubles match where one guy would take about a minute for every serve, because his toss was off. He needed about 3-4 tosses for every serve. None of the other 3 talked in the middle of his 3-4 tosses etc..
     
    #5
  6. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Oh, uh. Your service routine has risen to the level of a "sequence?" :)

    Funny thing about service routines. In the middle of a recent doubles match, my opponent (a nice lady I knew only in passing) said, "You're doing something really cute when you serve. I'll tell you about it after the match." Then after the match, she said, "Did you know that you start you service motion by kicking the ground with your right toe? But you only do it before your first serve or after you catch a toss, but not for the second serve. It's so *funny!*"

    Darn her, she was right (about the kicking; I can't say whether it is "cute"). Every time I do it, this lady is in my head. And I can't make myself stop!

    And it is pretty rude for your opponent to heckle during your service routine.
     
    #6
  7. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,023
    This is actually a great tactic to use against a good returner. They will never be able to time anything (because they never know which toss you will actually hit). Frustrates the hell out of them.

    And there really isn't much your opponent can do. "Sorry man. I always have trouble with my toss. I'm not trying to do this on purpose. Its frustrating for me too".
     
    #7
  8. Mike2228

    Mike2228 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    860 CT
    Get to the point where you don't even notice the noise, you'll be better for it.
     
    #8
  9. Annika

    Annika Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    If someone did that while I was in service motion, no matter who it was, I would stop, bounce the ball 3-4 times, glare over at my opponents, then serve.
    :twisted:
     
    #9
  10. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,023
    Oh ya!!! I'd sure show you. Why I would......................:rolleyes:
     
    #10
  11. Annika

    Annika Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    quiet haywood....:???:
     
    #11
  12. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,023
    [​IMG]
     
    #12
  13. Majik

    Majik Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Can the receiver be "ready" and talking to his partner at the same time?
     
    #13
  14. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    ^Um, can you elaborate? What happened?

    I dunno. If I see the receiver is ready and then I hear talking or a loud sound, I will stop and see what's going on. Was the noise a case of someone on the next court warning us that their ball is bouncing onto our court? Once I see everyone's ready again, I serve.
     
    #14
  15. JoelDali

    JoelDali G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10,582
    #15
  16. Panic492

    Panic492 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    #16
  17. saigonbond

    saigonbond Guest


    USTA RULE 26. HINDRANCE (OLD 21,25 & 36)
    If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point.
     
    #17
  18. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    Arizona
    #18
  19. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,412
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    #19
  20. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Ready, set, shut up!

    I won't serve until my opponent(s) are in ready position and quiet. I don't have a lengthy routine, but I'll just stand there, bouncing the ball until they settle down. If they ever want me to serve, they'll shut up...

    I also play with people who want to serve so quickly that me or my partner is not in position yet. Sometimes my back is actually turned, as I'm clearing a ball; or I'm wiping my face with a towel - but they serve anyway. I don't allow that as a legal serve, they'll have to take it over.

    Bottom line is, everyone should be in ready position before the server starts his motion, even if it's a sharapova-like display. It really cuts both ways...
     
    #20
  21. Annika

    Annika Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    #21
  22. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    if a server was consistently tossing the ball 3-4 times before actually serving, I would start getting "unready" after each failed toss. That is, if the server tosses the ball, and then catches it, I would put my hand up and get re-ready. Of course, I only do this if someone is being a jerk about multiple tosses. Further, if it is taking a minute to serve, they are violating the rule of serving within 20 seconds, (or is it 24 seconds?).


     
    #22
  23. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    If you got "unready," I would not even see you. I toss, and if I need to catch, I catch and scold myself and toss again without much delay. I do not look up at the receiver to see if she has wandered off after I caught the toss.

    Believe me, I don't enjoy the multiple tosses any more than you do. But I prefer them to DFs.
     
    #23
  24. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    You are supposed to check that the receiver is ready before you serve.

     
    #24
  25. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Here's Rule 21 and comments, with a few deletions not pertinent here:

    I think if I catch my toss twice and then hit the third one, then that would be an ace if you didn't return it.

    Is that how it works?
     
    #25
  26. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Once you toss the ball, and catch it, you are restarting your serve, and then you have to check that the receiver is ready. however, if the receiver looks ready, and you serve the ball on the 3rd toss, then, yes, it would be an ace, imho.


     
    #26
  27. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    I dunno, Blake.

    I mean, say I step up to the line and look at you and you are ready. I then tug at my wedgie, tap my foot, bounce the ball like Djokovic, put my hair behind my ears, then toss the ball and hit it. If you become unready during all of that sequence for no good reason, it's an ace, I think.

    It doesn't make sense that the "toss" starts the service motion, if you think about it. 'Cause there is no requirement that I toss the ball at all (underhand serve).
     
    #27
  28. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    yes, you are correct about the ace. but we were talking about tossing the ball, and catching it. once you toss the ball and catch it, you then re-start your serve, and you must check to see if your opponent is ready. if you set up to serve underhand, and you don't serve it, the ball will hit the ground, and you will have to pick it up, and re-start your serve, and again, check to see if the receiver is ready.

     
    #28
  29. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    ^I guess we're going to have to get a ruling from an expert. I'm not seeing *anything* in the rules that supports what you are saying.

    If I am standing at the baseline ready to play, and you have to be ready when I am and play to my pace, then you have to play to my pace. If that pace includes three tosses, you have to stay ready. There is nothing that says that my catching a toss releases you from your obligation to be ready when I strike that serve if you were ready when I stepped up to that baseline.
     
    #29
  30. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    The server is not ready to play if she is tossing the ball 3 times. Why do you think the pros (and most amateurs I know) apologize when they catch their toss? They know it is interrupting the receiver's readiness to return serve. You don't have the right to toss the ball as many times as you want during your allotted 24 seconds (or is it 20?) to serve, and expect the receiver to be prepared to return serve on the 5th toss, or 8th toss. This seems common sensical and sporting to me.

     
    #30
  31. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Players apologize because they have inadvertently done something amateurish and annoying. It's just good manners.

    And yes, the server is ready to play before the serve is actually struck, obviously.

    And yes, you can toss the ball as many times as you want within the 20 seconds. If you were to do this deliberately, this would qualify you as a jerk, but I cannot see how it is prohibited by the rules.
     
    #31
  32. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Cindy, a lot of times when you toss the ball up and catch it, the receiver has already taken their split step to get ready to receive. You need to give them a couple of seconds to get re-ready, and yes, it is your responsibility to make srue that the receiver is ready after a caught toss.
     
    #32
  33. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    All right. If you say so. I stand corrected.
     
    #33

Share This Page