Teaching pros/rules guru question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by chatt_town, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    So we are at state this weekend and I'm rooming with a guy who teaches a lot of tennis. He brings up the play where the ball bounces once on say my side and then hops back over the net. I then take and hit the ball directly into the net thus basically ending the point...or should it? I told him that I thought that the point ended. He said that the other person should have a chance to play the ball because the point should not be over until the ball has bounced twice and futhermore, the other person never had a "chance" to play the ball. So I told him I'd come here and ask you all what you thought about the rule. I clearly know what the rule is but is it right to on one hand say the point is not over until the ball bounces twice but then say the point is over if someone does hit the ball into the net before you play it. Also think about this. If the ball hits the net on a regular ground stroke and hits the net and then bounces then the player can still play it...so wouldn't they still be allowed to play it if they could get there before the ball bounces twice? He said a usta official argued him down that the point ended. I think he has a valid point. So what is the rule on that someone...anyone...Timbo? Lee?
     
    #1
  2. floydcouncil

    floydcouncil Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    692
    I hit the ball with lots of back spin.
    The ball land in your court and spins back over the net to my side.
    You reach over and tap the ball into the net (on my side).
    The ball hits the net and falls onto my side of the court.

    I have to:

    1. not touch the net
    2. some how get the ball back over the net onto your side....

    Theoretically impossible? No, but realistically not probable.

    Technically the point ends when the ball bounces twice on my side of the court.
     
    #2
  3. amorris525

    amorris525 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    I can honestly say it is one of my tennis dreams to hit this shot. The ball technically does have to bounce twice but if you are in that situation to begin with and you hit the ball into the net it won't matter.
     
    #3
  4. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    That makes sense. Some usta official screwed the guy then. lol I'll let him know he was right. He said he has to have a chance to play the ball which you just basically said he does. The official told him the point ended when the ball hit the net but the point doesn't end until it bounces twice. That's the answer we were looking for.


     
    #4
  5. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    we are talking about hitting it into the net on the other side(only time you are allowed to reach over the net)...not my own side. :)


     
    #5
  6. gameboy

    gameboy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,620
    You can hit it into the net, but the point is still not over until the ball bounces twice. And you cannot interfere with your opponent trying to hit it.

    I have hit this shot several times over the years. Every time it was when I whiffed on an overhead, but got just enough with the top of my frame to put a vicious spin on the ball.
     
    #6
  7. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,681
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I did that on a serve once when I was learning the game. Ace on a mishit serve that bounced back over to my side.
     
    #7
  8. amorris525

    amorris525 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Fully aware...Why would it be my dream to hit it in my own net?

    Although it's possible you are just joking, I can't tell.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
    #8
  9. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,355
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    If the umpire called the point before the ball bounced twice he was wrong. He (or the referee) should have given a let after he was made aware of his mistake.
     
    #9
  10. 10sjunkie

    10sjunkie New User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    The point ends as soon as you hit the ball into the net. The opposing team isn't required to have an opportunity to have a play on the ball. It's just considered a winner. Also, keep in mind that their "opportunity" is that you have to be able to reach over the net (without touching it) and hit the ball. If you don't it's their point.
     
    #10
  11. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,355
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    Not correct!

    Except for a let during a service, the only time a ball touching the net ends a play is in a singles game when the ball hits the net (or the post) beyond the singles posts. This is only the case if the net extends all the way to cater for doubles.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2013
    #11
  12. 10sjunkie

    10sjunkie New User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Keep up with the conversation. We are talking about a ball spinning back over the net, not about all situations in which a ball touches the net.
     
    #12
  13. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,355
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    I am keeping up with the conversation and it is not different when a ball spins back over the net, when the ball bounces a second time or hits something outside the court then the point is over. If the other guy is really fast and gets the ball right after it touches the next the play is not done :)

    You are simply wrong and apparently you do not like to admit it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2013
    #13
  14. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    You may have lost me...but at any rate...a usta official told my friend the point was over when it was hit into the net and that is not true. The ball has to bounce twice. I was just asking to make sure. I realize it is difficult but it is not impossible to play this shot. Apparently he did play a ball in the net and an argument took place afterwards as to whether or not he could play it and the official said he could not which was wrong.


     
    #14
  15. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Okay..so you are referring to the sticks they put up for singles. I've learned something new. I didn't know that but then again...I've rarely played where those sticks are used.

     
    #15

Share This Page