Tennis Rule Question??

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by tennisboy777, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. tennisboy777

    tennisboy777 New User

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    I was playing a tournament today and was up 3 love in the 2nd set (i won the first set 7-5). It was my serve in the 4th game and I was up 40-0 in the game and when i served he hit a shot out and i proceeded to toss him 2 balls. In the 5th game i broke him for a 5-0 lead.. well thats what I thought until he put 4-1 in the scoreboard. He said that he called a shot out in the 4th game and when I gave him 2 balls he said that he thought he won the set.. what do i do?? (yes i called the score every point)
     
    #1
  2. Wes_Loves_Dunlop

    Wes_Loves_Dunlop Professional

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    853
    you should have said no because if he didn't call it out or raise a finger, there's no way you could've known. In this case, you should've gotten an official
     
    #2
  3. papa

    papa Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,071
    This really isn't a rules question.

    Your up a set and leading the second 5-0 but he thinks its 4-1 in the second. How does he think he won a set?
     
    #3
  4. user92626

    user92626 Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,290
    They probably used something like this on the scoreboard

    Player A 7 4 40
    Player B 5 0 0

    and then somehow nobody remembered who Player B was ...or wanted to be him anymore!
     
    #4
  5. prattle128

    prattle128 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    If you're up 5-0 in a set, and then all of a sudden, he thinks that he's won the set in just one game, then something is seriously messed up. Like others said, not a problem with rules, but people being insane.
     
    #5
  6. dbusiness

    dbusiness Rookie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    I believe "The Code" says that if you call the score incorrectly
    and the opponent hears this and doesn't correct it due to an
    error on his part that you go by the score called or played in
    good faith.

    If you disputed the call and he was sure the ball was out the point
    would have been his.
     
    #6
  7. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,918
    Do you mean that he thought he won the game? (not the set) That seems to make more sense.

    (but still seems weird on his part that he thought he won a game that you thought you were 40-0 in, that's a huge difference.....)
     
    #7
  8. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,918
    It doesnt really say that, we just went thru that in another thread. That's a common conception that players use though.

    ("The Code" is on www.usta.com)

    What we dont know here is if the OP's opponent actually called 1-3 or 0-4 before his service game. Maybe he didnt say anything, and the OP didnt think to ask? Would be interesting to know that....

    If we believe this story though it's a pretty simple one really.

    The opponent is just pulling his leg and he doesnt even have a good story to go along with it. (who cares if he thinks he won ONE point, the OP thinks that he won EVERY POINT so ONE point isnt going to change the outcome of that game.....)

    I think you either just point that out and if you're lucky they will see it your way, and if not, offer to reply the last point. (and then finish out the game if need be)

    Although if you cant quite recall the exact events which has happened to me before (because Im focusing on the current point, not remembering old points) then you should just concede the score as called. (you cant dispute what you dont even remember....)
     
    #8
  9. papa

    papa Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,071
    Your right. Just because someone either mis-speaks doesn't automatically change the score. Some try this and it works sometimes - sad to say but it just doesn't work that way.
     
    #9

Share This Page