My last singles match had several weird Code moments: 1. My opponent hit a first serve from the deuce court. I wasn't sure whether the serve was long or not (especially since I was wearing my glasses instead of contacts and therefore can't see straight down quite as well), so I played a nice deep return to the ad court. My opponent made no move to play the ball and prepared to serve from the deuce court again. When she saw me waling over to the ad court to receive, she said "The serve was out" and gestured with her hands that it was out by a lot. I said "I thought it caught the line, so I played it. So it's my point." She said, "But it was out." I motioned her to the net and explained the rule about calling first serves out. Then I offered to play a let (on account of how I was winning 4-1 and she was a nice lady). I won the point anyway. 2. I hit a deep lob and began moving to the net. I believed it was sailing out. When the ball bounced, she yelled something I couldn't hear, which I took to be an "out" call. For some reason, she played the ball from deep behind the baseline, a weak sitter. I was at net, and feeling a little annoyed that she was sending me the ball even though she was serving, I gently returned the ball back toward the ad court where she would next serve. As it turns out, my lob was not out; she was calling it "in." But it was my point because my gentle return was a winner. Weird. Who calls balls "in" in the middle of a point? 3. When my ball was out, she raised one finger. When my ball was barely in, she often raised her hand, which to a player wearing six-year-old glasses with the wrong prescription looks a lot like one finger. I've never seen a raised hand used as an "in" signal.