The required but insincere apology

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by storypeddler, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. sovertennis

    sovertennis Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    526
    The casual wave after a net cord winner is the most disingenuous gesture in the game. It's also a reminder that tennis is, at it's core, (as Cindy said earlier) a gentlemen's game. Although an anachronism, it's often expected, and since there's little effort involved in making the gesture, why not do it?

    Among my frequent partners though, there's no wave or apology. We go straight to the Bartoli fist pump, and punctuate it with a "yeah!"
     
    #51
  2. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,093
    This thread is very interesting to read.

    I think you are correct that some folks simply have trouble grasping social niceties that take little effort. They put a needlessly literal and significant interpretation on it, and then declare their fervent opposition.

    It's weird, in a way. Of all the things upon which a person could choose to take a stand, they take a stand on this one?

    The little hand or racket wave communicates, "Dude, I totally understand how that feels." Why waste any mental energy trying to beat down this friendly little tennis custom?

    Have you noticed how pro players hold up a ball before they serve with new balls? How unnecessary and silly this is. The receiver knows full well that the balls are being changed. The umpire just announced, "New balls." The ball kids were scrambling around changing out the balls. Yet the server still has to hold up the ball and say "New balls," and if the server doesn't do this the receiver gets annoyed. It is a nicety with no purpose, but it is a nice little custom.

    I suppose the server could plant his flag and refuse to say "New balls." But why go there?

    Same thing when you hit a player with the ball. Even if you didn't hurt them, even if it was a legitimate shot, you still say sorry or raise your hand or some such. Why? Just a friendly little tennis custom.

    Why don't we all just keep on observing these little customs, just to do what we can to keep the game friendly, civil and polite? It won't hurt a bit, I promise.
     
    #52
  3. lilac8bd

    lilac8bd New User

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Do you apologize when you hit a line and the ball skids of the the paint/chalk for a winner? I doubt you hit that very spot intentionally, just like the net cord......no apology needed, lucky shot.
     
    #53
  4. Kahlz

    Kahlz Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    I always apologize with the hand held up and often even verbally say something as well. I will even do this if my opponent still wins the point after I hit the tape or framed the shot. I know I am pretty unusual in that regard, but I guess the motivation for that comes from me feeling bad for my opponent having to deal with that weird ball and also from my disdain in myself for the mishit. In the end, though, it mostly balances out with both players getting favorable luck here and there so it's not that big of a deal.

    On a related note, though, I do have a guy I hit with regularly who always seems to come up with a frame lob or net cord pass on crucial points deep into a set. We both laugh it off, of course, but it really does happen more often than not in tight sets.
     
    #54
  5. limbo696

    limbo696 New User

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I've always thought that apologizing for a net tape winner is a very strange tennis custom.
     
    #55
  6. sundaypunch

    sundaypunch Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,686
    McEnroe would do this for $50. You don't think he would wear it for the truckloads of cash that Nike throws at RF?
     
    #56
  7. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,496
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    Hmmm:

    [​IMG]

    :grin:
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2013
    #57
  8. stapletonj

    stapletonj Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Lavalette, WV
    Do you apologize when you hit a line and the ball skids of the the paint/chalk for a winner.

    Maybe not for hitting the tape on a serve or groundstroke. If it was obvious that the opponent was in position and has demonstrated enough ability that even a ball skidding normally off the tape will come back, a crazy bounce b/c my ball caught the edge of a nail holding down the tape?

    Yeah, even that gets the "hand up"....but I sure aint giving them a let.....heh heh heh
     
    #58
  9. SuperJimmy

    SuperJimmy Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    I raise my hand looking to apologize, and if they are still looking, slowly turn it into a fist, lift one leg, pull my fist in, and do a couple of fist pumps while keeping constant eye contact.
     
    #59
  10. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,073
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    It's not an apology, it's an acknowledgement that you were aided by some luck.

    While certainly not required, I don't understand why anyone would object to doing that.

    Just shows a little bit of humbleness and that even games/sports of skill such as tennis still have an element of luck involved.
     
    #60

Share This Page