The usta officials are clueless

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by dizzlmcwizzl, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    DE
    In a match today the following occurred. The other team was constantly serving wide on the add side. On one ball my partner took the return down the line and hit the flip cards. The ball reflected off the score cards and landed in. The official stepped in and said it was the opponents point and the score cards were not considered a permanent fixture.

    This is where it gets interesting ... I asked if we could pull out the cards since it may come up again. Same official said no ... They must stay.

    So he called it a temporary fixture that we could not move out of the way. We asked three different officials and 2 agreed with him and one said it should have been our point.

    What say you tt
     
    #1
  2. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    DE
    Second offense

    Not quite as interesting but watched the same official call a fault on a player ... Stand at the court and watch the same player foot fault by at least 12 inches on every serve afterwards without saying a word. When I asked him about it he pointed out that he did call it once.
     
    #2
  3. Fusker

    Fusker Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Not allowing you to take down the numbers seems like a lack of common sense.
     
    #3
  4. cll30

    cll30 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    10 characters plus
     
    #4
  5. tenniscasey

    tenniscasey Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    One official made a mistake on an obscure rule. Two other officials mistakenly agreed with him. Gotcha.

    Now, please explain: How does that translate to "USTA officials are clueless"? Have you ever made a mistake? If so, are you clueless?
     
    #5
  6. sundaypunch

    sundaypunch Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,655
    The officials apparently were clueless when it comes to that rule.
     
    #6
  7. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    The ruling was correct. You lose the point because your partners ball hit a permanent fizture before landing in the correct court. The official's explanation was garbled (assuming you heard correctly), but the call was right.

    If i were the official, i would not let you remove the scorecard either. We cannot have players dissasembling the fixtures on the court. What next? Will you take down a ceiling fan if your ball hits that? So long as the fixture is there for both teams, it is fair.
     
    #7
  8. tenniscasey

    tenniscasey Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    That's not what the OP said or implied.
     
    #8
  9. tenniscasey

    tenniscasey Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    Whoops! Looks like the rules are clueless too.
     
    #9
  10. sundaypunch

    sundaypunch Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,655
    Hey! You are right. I read that way too quickly........
     
    #10
  11. NTRPolice

    NTRPolice Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    515
    I went to sectionals today to check out competition for the mixed leagues coming up and I saw that new scoring crap that they use. What IS that thing? It's awful. I should have taken a picture.

    Also, yeah, the officials are terrible. But you have to understand, a lot of these people are old (in age) and volunteers (in skill). I dont think they try to screw people over, but they are going to be "assertive" at the same time, right or wrong.

    I can see why pros get mad at paid, professional officials, because so much is on the line, but rec players can only complain so much about the organizations. For me, whenever someone hooks a line call, plays a double bounce, or in this case, the official may be wrong, you just have to play through it.

    I've had some interesting interactions with officials before, some good and some bad. They ARE generally nice people though.

    Today I actually witnessed a new trainee going though the program. When I was watching the 4.0's play I was eavesdropping at the same time. The "guy in the green" was being a little "vocal" and "aggressive" so the trainer was explaining to the new lady about how "...you need to watch this guy here in the green. You see how he's pacing back and forth like that? He's going to blow up soon. You need to watch for that." HAHAHAHAHA

    It was so funny.
     
    #11
  12. tenniscasey

    tenniscasey Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    I really don't understand why people blanket-bomb entire volunteer officiating groups over isolated incidents. The vast majority of USTA officials I've encountered are entirely competent and thoroughly helpful; I'm grateful for the time they invest in making sure I enjoy my rec tennis experience.

    This thread particularly gets to me because the official appears to have been in the right, even if he might have erred in the explanation.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
    #12
  13. cll30

    cll30 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I think most of them get paid.
     
    #13
  14. tenniscasey

    tenniscasey Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    If so, and I have every reason to believe you, that's great.

    I can't imagine it's a meaningful amount, though, and my broader point still stands.
     
    #14
  15. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    DE
    Well ... I admit while I was sitting in the hotel icing body parts and feeling bad about our team being the second/third best team at sectionals for the third year in a row .... I titled to harshly.

    This does not change my opinion of these particular officials ....
     
    #15
  16. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    DE
    One more incident I thought was in error

    I was serving...l I had hit a second service. The ball was in flight towards my opponent but had not yet arrived when a ball came screeming from an adjacent court. A let was was called by everyone on the court.

    However, we all thought I should get two serves since the point was started and interrupted .... The official stepped and said I only get one serve.

    I am convinced the official was wrong but it is hard to search for rules from my phone .... I rely on the TT community.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
    #16
  17. tenniscasey

    tenniscasey Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    This one's pretty clear-cut in your favor:

     
    #17
  18. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,573
    This is why as a player you really need to know the rules, I even have them on my iphone as an ebook.

    There is NO doubt that you get two serves here, and any official that doesn't know that shouldn't be an official.
     
    #18
  19. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070

    The official was wrong. It happens.

    What happened when you asked for the tournament referee?

    Sorry about sectionals, man. Winning sectionals takes divine intervention.
     
    #19
  20. NTRPolice

    NTRPolice Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    515
    Some of them do, most of them dont.

    All of the ones who get paid a legitimate amount of money are almost never there at any events unless its like the USO wildcard or posing for pictures in the magazines.

    Have you ever tried contacting them in their office? lol. If they aint in their office 4/5 days a week, they're not in the blazing sun walking around and watching lines in the tiebreaks.

    A lot of people get "paid" for USTA work, but "hourly" wise its less than minimum wage. I know one lady who is in charge of scheduling the 6.0/7.0/8.0/9.0 and she "gets paid" lol. It's a labor of love, or beer. It's funny cause when I played on her 6.0 team she scheduled all our matches early in the mornings at courts close to my house, so I could play 7.0 later in the afternoon. RIGGED I tell ya :p
     
    #20
  21. amorris525

    amorris525 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    How about this one?

    I was playing a collegiate doubles match. It was match point for our opponents. They ended up hitting a high shot that barely cleared the net right near the net post. My opponent hit a smash, but on his follow through, he hit the scorecard fixture, he did not hit the net. The referee gave the point to our opponents ending the match. We tried to argue, but he had none of it. Then, after the doubles point was over, he comes up to us and apologizes that he blew the call. What a joke.
     
    #21
  22. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Seems pretty classy of him to double-check his ruling, realize his error, and seek you out to apologize. Sounds like the kind of person who should be an official.

    Say, what happened when you called for the tournament referee?
     
    #22
  23. amorris525

    amorris525 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    I will give him credit for that, at least. But still...he only realized his mistake when consulting with the other referee on the other courts, which he should have done in the first place.
     
    #23
  24. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    AR
    To be honest you or your COACH should have asked for the Referee for the match, to come to the court for a rules clarification, once you leave the court or shake hands it is to late to change it other than seethe.
    A question of rule requires, since it is a fact your team hit the score card.
     
    #24
  25. amorris525

    amorris525 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    That was the ref who made the call...there is no "head ref" It was two roving officials covering 3 doubles matches.
     
    #25
  26. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    AR
    There is a reason I have my FAC on hand in these situations, occasionally have to sneak away in a break to double check a ruling
     
    #26
  27. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    In that case, the thing to do is simply pause, pull out your own copy of the rules and show it to the official.
     
    #27

Share This Page