This ain't no Radical!!!

Discussion in 'Pros' Racquets and Gear' started by Head-Strong, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. Head-Strong

    Head-Strong Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    [​IMG]

    Prestige? 2003 US Open i believe???
     
    #1
  2. caesar66

    caesar66 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Athens, Ga
    I can't pull up the link...whats in it?
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2007
    #2
  3. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371

    can't open the page, either...
     
    #3
  4. Voltron

    Voltron Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3,906
    Location:
    Pffft, like I'd know
    It's a PJ of an older frame probably.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2007
    #4
  5. caesar66

    caesar66 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Athens, Ga
    Especially toward the end of his career, but still sometimes throughout his career, Agassi was known to switch up a bit with his frames, trying different headsizes and sometimes different frames all together. The most obvious instance of this happening was when Agassi used a LM Instinct for a while w/ no pj, but under the radical PJ he's actually tried out a good many different setups. I learned that on these boards, I'm sure someone can elaborate on this.
     
    #5
  6. thomas martinez

    thomas martinez Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    New York
    Yes it was a Prestige 660. It was at a 27.25" length, but with side lead added if memory serves, and forgot the rest of his numbers. Too lazy to go look them up in my database. He was stringing with ALU Power, mid 60s. There was even one match, he started off with the 660s, then had us string up some of his Radical 690s mid match because he felt something was off. Was quite the sweating time for that!
     
    #6
  7. heycal

    heycal Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,451
    Is that legal? Communicating during a match with the stringers about changing/adding some rackets to his arsenal?
     
    #7
  8. Richie Rich

    Richie Rich Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,274
    i've seen it done. they give instructions to the ballkids or just yell up to their coaches box. 15 minutes later they have a new string job/racquet
     
    #8
  9. thomas martinez

    thomas martinez Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    New York
    Yes, quite legal, in our case, we had Killer call in the stringing room, and we had to help the person who was doing Andre's frames, meaning preweave the main strings for him, pull off the old tournagrips, stencil and put on new tournas, rubber bands, tension labels and bag as they came off the machine
     
    #9
  10. a guy

    a guy Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    570
    When did he use the instinct? Any pics?
     
    #10
  11. SFrazeur

    SFrazeur Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
  12. caesar66

    caesar66 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Athens, Ga
    a couple of years ago (maybe year before last) at the French Open and during some of the Grass court season last year.
     
    #12
  13. Hessam

    Hessam Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    #13
  14. heycal

    heycal Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,451
    By Killer I think you mean his coach Cahill? Seems to me it should be illegal. Communicating with his coach during a match about the equipment he's using? What if the coach disagrees with the request, and either changes it or doens't comply because he doens't agree his player?

    Seems problematic to me on several levels.
     
    #14
  15. Hmm, interesting, this raises some questions.

    A coach or ballboy not allowing a player a chosen set-up? Can you say, "fired"? Have you before never heard of a player kicking back a frame? Are you also surprised that players don't pull out a Klippermate and string during change-overs?

    It's not really communication--it's a player's monologue, not dialogue. Should it also be illegal for Myskina to yell at her coach? What if the coach doesn't agree? What if during a match a psycho player talks to himself: should that be illegal, too?

    You're arguing with players, fans, and ITF/ATP/WTA, all of who must go home if you had your way.
     
    #15
  16. heycal

    heycal Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,451
    Don't get carried away with extremes, son, and just look at some of the nuances and potential real life problems with allowing such a thing:

    Let's say a player wants to switch rackets and go with a different tension in the middle of his match. He yells up to his coach on a changever "Tell the stringers to get me my POG and string it at 55!" A good coach could conceivably do one of the following:

    A) Comply immediately and silently, because he agrees with his player.

    B) Shake his head "No" and give his player a silent "you're fine with what you're using, relax" type of gesture. (Is the player going to fire his coach for this? Presumably not, since advice is what he pays his coach for, right?)

    C) Verbally say "Great idea, the POG at 55 lbs will allow you attack his backhand more effectively".

    D) Pretend to comply, but actually order a different tension, because he knows his player is just nervous and unsure right now, and from his dispasionate perspective, he knows his guy will actually perform better with it strung lower than he thinks he wants it right this second. Later, they will laugh about how the coach was right... (A less likely scenario than the others, to be sure, but still conceivable.)

    E) Say, or silently indicate, that a racket switch is a good idea, but indicate with a little gesture that maybe a few pounds tighter would be better. At which point the player could say "Actually, let's go with 58 lbs instead."

    Do you get it now? Do you see how allowing such a thing might violate either the actual letter of the law against on-court coaching not to mention the spirt of the rule?
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2007
    #16

Share This Page