Throwing your racquet to reach a ball - is it legal?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by harrpau7, May 5, 2008.

  1. harrpau7

    harrpau7 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    As the title says, if you could not reach the ball to make a shot, but you threw your racquet at the ball and the ball somehow went back over the net, would it count as a legal shot?
     
    #1
  2. Vision84

    Vision84 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    I'm pretty sure the racket needs to be in your control when making contact with the ball so the answer is it is not a legal shot.

    I would wait till someone who knows the rules better than I do to answer though.
     
    #2
  3. Moz

    Moz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Mallorca.
    Not legal - you would lose the point.
     
    #3
  4. baek57

    baek57 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    #4
  5. Leublu tennis

    Leublu tennis Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    Moldova
    I think when you have thrown the racquet it becomes just a loose object on the court. And, before you ask, if you drop your racquet you can not kick the ball back over the net, I don't think.
     
    #5
  6. my_forehand

    my_forehand Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    haha.HA!
    Connors' celebration was...weird. He's like a kid.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
    #6
  7. Vision84

    Vision84 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    HAHA that was awesome. He managed to hit the ball about 10feet over his head. I'm a bit confused as judging by the youtube comments he was awarded the point but it was against the rules. :confused:
     
    #7
  8. ericsson

    ericsson Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,679
    Location:
    Land of beer and chocolate
    #8
  9. Vision84

    Vision84 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Back then in 1996. ;)
     
    #9
  10. PROTENNIS63

    PROTENNIS63 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,722
    According to USTA, the racquet must be in the hand of the player at all times for the point to count.
     
    #10
  11. jmsx521

    jmsx521 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,496
    That Connors point is from his Seniors' Tour days: Notice his Prince racket! That is not 70s-80s! Is it legal on the Seniors' Tour?
     
    #11
  12. dh003i

    dh003i Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,114
    Well, even though he lost that, it was an awesome point by Connors.
     
    #12
  13. tzinc

    tzinc Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    On Red Clay
    I thought you could use your body to return the ball (your face or hand or kick it back) if you wanted to (the racquet in your hand is part of the body). Please correct me if I am wrong.
     
    #13
  14. MAX PLY

    MAX PLY Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,709
    Rules as to thrown racquet striking a ball

    The Rules of Tennis are clear:

    Rule 24(h) indicates that a player loses the point if the ball touches the player or anything the player is holding or wearing, except of course the racquet.

    Rule 24(i) indicates that a player loses the point if the racquet touches the ball while the player is not holding it (thus a ball hit by a thrown racquet is a lost point for the "racquet thrower").
     
    #14
  15. jmsx521

    jmsx521 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,496
    I assume it would be a very close call if the ball touches the handle (let's say a miss-hit on a volley at the net)... and the umpire might claim that the ball touched the player's hand!?
     
    #15
  16. JRstriker12

    JRstriker12 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,367
    No - you can't use your body to return the ball. Once it touches, your clothes, face, foot, etc. your lose the point. If you could use your body (not the racket) to return the ball, what would stop you from catching the ball and throwing it back for a winner?
     
    #16
  17. hoodjem

    hoodjem G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12,743
    Location:
    Bierlandt
    No, Connors loses the point.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
    #17
  18. Loco4Tennis

    Loco4Tennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,814
    Location:
    Manassas, Virginia
    these 2 rules clear the debate for me
    thanks MAX PLY

    but regardless, it was a cool point by connors :)
     
    #18
  19. Vision84

    Vision84 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #19
  20. dh003i

    dh003i Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,114
    Too bad there's ********* players like Lendl who try to clock others on the chest or head to take advantage of that rule. That ought to be a penalty as well...like in basketball, I think it is a technical to rebound the ball in off an opposing player's head.
     
    #20
  21. maverick66

    maverick66 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,137
    Location:
    Valhalla
    such crap. it should have been grosjeans point and every one but the officials knew it. i would have thrown my racket at kiefer on the very next point. it would have been drop shot and a racket chucked at his head.
     
    #21
  22. Loco4Tennis

    Loco4Tennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,814
    Location:
    Manassas, Virginia
    yeah it should be, and i think it falls into the sportmanlike conduct rule, but this rule is even harder to enforce, becuase malicious intent needs to be precent, pegging someone is not enough, to be considered you need to aim at someoen with the intension of causing harm and possibly putting them out the game, well thats my understanding of it
     
    #22
  23. el sergento

    el sergento Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Montreal
    Kiefer, biggest cheat in the game. The guy has no dignity, he should have given that point to Grosjean.
     
    #23
  24. el sergento

    el sergento Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Montreal
    I disagree, it's a perfectly legitimate shot and that's why it's allowed. What's the difference between going for the body or going for a passing shot?? In both cases you're trying to prevent your opponent from hitting a volley or hitting a clean ball. It's very hard to hit a ball that's right up on your body, why is it cheating if your opponent forced you to hit, or try to hit, a difficult shot??

    In doubles they do this all the time.
     
    #24
  25. el sergento

    el sergento Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Montreal
    You can't take someone out with a tennis ball. Remember Agassi smashing a ball right into Corretja?? Or even this Lendl-Mac incident. Both player got up, brushed themselves off and continued playing. Maybe if you hit someone in the nose you might make it bleed, but that's about it.
     
    #25
  26. Loco4Tennis

    Loco4Tennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,814
    Location:
    Manassas, Virginia
    i know someone that got his redna detached by a tennis ball, he was amost not able to play for weeks because he could not see afterwards, you can do some real damage with a simple tennis ball,
    hitting the tennis ball off someones head will also cause problems if you hit them hard enough
    but you do have a point above, it is a easier shot to hit someone then to try to go arround them, but then again i am not that interested in gettings points like that
    one thing i will say though, if you come up to volley alot, you need to expect getting hit, no way arround that fact, i know this and its why i am ready everytime
    but,,, let get back to throwing racquets in the tennis court argument :) thoes motherss can hurt too
     
    #26
  27. JRstriker12

    JRstriker12 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,367
    The case with the detached retina was an accident, totally unintentional.

    Besides, if you do go for the body, you usually hit low towards their belly button or maybe at the feet. You go for the head and you either hit the ball out or get a smash in return. You are not trying to hit them, so much as give them a ball that will jam them or not let them volley easily. If I have a choice between a passing shot or a body shot, I'll usually pass as I've seen too many body shots backfire when the opponent gets a racket on the ball and hits an accidental drop volley winner or the pace of the ball causes it to rebound for a winner. Had an opponent try to hit a hard forehand at me that we about head high (don't think he did it on purpose), I ducked, stuck my racket out and it just bounced back for a winner.

    I think most people tend to try to jam on body shots when you have all four players at the net. It's usually a volley, so it doesn't have the full force of a ground stroke or smash.
     
    #27
  28. Fries-N-Gravy

    Fries-N-Gravy Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    its technically illegal if the racquet is not in your hand but im pretty sure its up to the umpire. i think there was a point where safin ran into the net but he had obviously won the point.

    i dont see why it shouldn't count though logically if you can throw your racquet and win the point.
     
    #28
  29. Serpententacle

    Serpententacle Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #29
  30. Vision84

    Vision84 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    If I was an umpire I would of considered defaulting him but for the sake of the fans who paid to see the match I would have been less harsh, though continuance of bad behavior would have resulted in default. ;)
     
    #30

Share This Page