time between 1st and 2nd serve?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by ser_renely, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. ser_renely

    ser_renely Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    If player has a decent first serve and a dink of a second serve, how much time do I get to reposition between serves? If I stand on the base line for the first and almost at the service box for the second, do I get time to reposition before his second serve?

    In general after a first serve flies out, I always feel the need to look where the ball ends up, so its not rolling on the court, or if off the fence so I have a heads up where it is, then take a step forward and getting ready.Should the server wait for me to be ready before the 2nd serve? I don't milk it or anything, just a glance over at the ball, if its rolling hard still watch it for a couple seconds. There is someone I play against who serves a couple seconds after the first serve and I don't feel I have enough time to prepare.
     
    #1
  2. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,440
    Location:
    Atlanta
    If you aren't ready just put a hand or racket up to indicate you need more time. If you don't even have time to set up then you are definitely in your rights to hold them up a second.
     
    #2
  3. ser_renely

    ser_renely Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Yeah, but he is already in a windup, so doesn't do anything.
     
    #3
  4. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,440
    Location:
    Atlanta
    put your hand up earlier then
     
    #4
  5. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    talk to him about it! let him know you need a few more seconds to get into position before he serves the second serve. "Dude can you give me nore time between serves?"
    Or if all else fails... turn your back and adjust you strings.
     
    #5
  6. ser_renely

    ser_renely Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    well, I think the issue is he thinks I have to be ready for him, he thinks he dictates and should be able to immediately hit his second serve...I disagree. Thats why I am not sure who's right.
     
    #6
  7. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    It's kind of a judgement call.

    You have to move at his pace, but he cant serve until you are ready.

    There is a reasonable amount of time that you should get to reposition yourself.

    If they continue to quick serve you, then just turn around and face away from them after the first serve. If they dont like it then tell them to stop quick serving you then.
     
    #7
  8. ser_renely

    ser_renely Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    how much time would you say is normal or average between serves in a club matches?
     
    #8
  9. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    I would say 10 seconds. grab the ball bounce it a few times and go
     
    #9
  10. [d]ragon

    [d]ragon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,466
    If you feel he's not giving you enough time and you don't have time to tell him (he's already going through his motion), then let him serve and make no move to return it, then tell him you weren't ready and he should wait abit between serves. If you make a move to return it though, it counts as you being ready.
     
    #10
  11. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    No rush!

    The game is played at server's pace of course, but some folks take this to a ridiculous degree - serving fast to try and rattle you. A server shouldn't serve to you before you're in receiver stance. If you (or your partner) are still walking to receiver position, or certainly if you're retrieving a ball, the server has to wait. My way of slowing the rushing server down is to hold up my hand until I'm ready to receive. If they serve while my hand is up, they have to take another serve and that sends the right signal. I have to admit that sometimes if the server continues this behavior, I purposely make them wait a bit longer, just to teach them a little lesson in patience (but only a second or two extra, nothing illegal).
     
    #11
  12. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,166
    Once again, this is supposed to be a gentleman's (or gentlewoman's) game with good sportsmanship. If he is intentionally serving before you are ready that is bad sportsmanship. You certainly should clear any balls that could pose a problem and have a right to get in proper position. Delaying his serve unreasonably would also be unsportsmanlike, but from your description this doesn't seem to be the case.
     
    #12
  13. bluescreen

    bluescreen Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,636
    this doesnt matter. i played a guy in my last tournament that had a huge first and second serve and i wanted to move back a little for the second serve to take a bigger swing.

    even though he took a couple seconds between serves, sometimes he didnt look up to see if i was ready. on some points, he wouldnt see my hand up and would serve anyway. i just yelled a let during his motion and stopped the point. he had no problem with it.
     
    #13

Share This Page