Time for another rules quiz!

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by woodrow1029, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    These questions will be from the Rules and from "The Code":

    1. Who is responsible for making the call when a player hits a ball that bounces on the court before going over the net?

    A. The player that hit the ball
    B. The opponent

    2. If a ball falls out of a player's pocket during a point, then later in the match, the same player's hat flies off during a point, what would be the correct ruling, assuming both were called in a timely fashion?

    A. Let both times, since they are two different types of events
    B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off
    C. Loss of point both times because both were hindrances

    3. In doubles, one partner calls a shot out, and when asked, the other partner says, "I don't know, I didn't see it".

    A. The team that originally called it out loses the point because the partner didn't see it and this shows doubt
    B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

    4. If one player refuses the 5-minute warm-up prior to a match, then:

    A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed
    B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed
    C. The other player can hit serves for 5 minutes, but can't choose another person to come warm-up with
    D. The warm-up doesn't happen

    5. What are the dimensions of a DOUBLES court

    A. 100' X 36'
    B. 78' X 36'
    C. 78' X 27'

    6. How many dampening devices is a player allowed to have on a racket, assuming placed in the proper position on the racket?

    A. 1
    B. 2
    C. As many as they want

    7. A tournament posted on it's website that all matches would be played, "Best of 3 sets, with a 10-point match tiebreak in lieu of the third set". In one match, the players began to play an actual full set, and the error was discovered at 3-0.

    A. The match is over
    B. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak
    C. Continue playing out a full third set

    8. Same as the question 7, but this time, the error is discovered at 2-1 in the third set.

    A. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a 10-point MATCH tiebreak.
    B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).
    C. Continue playing a full third set
    D. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak.

    9. May a tournament referee authorize a player to wear a cell phone in vibrate mode in certain situations such as when the player is an on-call doctor or emergency medical responder?

    A. Yes
    B. No

    10. If a player's racket flies out of his hand during the serve, and the serve lands in the proper court, then:

    A. The server can call a let
    B. The receiver can call a let
    C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
    D. The server loses the point based on the hindrance rule
     
    #1
  2. seseli

    seseli New User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    I'll give it a try.
    1B 2B 3B 4A 5 I'm bad at American metrics, so I won't try 6C 7C 8C 9A 10C
     
    #2
  3. cluckcluck

    cluckcluck Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,356
    Location:
    Between the baseline and netcord.
    1. A&B
    2. a
    3. b
    4. c
    5. b
    6. c
    7. a
    8. b
    9. b
    10. b
     
    #3
  4. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564
    1. not sure, but I'll say A. Should be fairly obvious to both though?
    2. b
    3. b
    4. b (but could be a, no idea on the coaching thing)
    5. b
    6. c
    7. a
    8. b
    9. I would hope so, I'll say a.
    10. b
     
    #4
  5. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,093
    1. B
    2. B
    3. B
    4. A
    5. B
    6. C
    7. C
    8. C
    9. Y
    10. C

    Thanks, Woodrow!
     
    #5
  6. Mauvaise

    Mauvaise Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm sure I'll get most of these wrong, but I'll try :)

     
    #6
  7. GlennK

    GlennK Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Pure guessing on some of these, but here goes.

    1. a
    2. a
    3. b
    4. b
    5. b
    6. a
    7. c
    8. c
    9. y
    10. c
     
    #7
  8. jonnyjack

    jonnyjack Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My guesses...

    1. A. The player that hit the ball

    2. B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off

    3. B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

    4. A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed

    5. B. 78' X 36'

    6. C. As many as they want

    7. A. The match is over

    8. B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).

    9. A. Yes

    10. C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
     
    #8
  9. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    Ditto, except #2. Let both times is my guess.
     
    #9
  10. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,726
    Posters who post the question number with the answer choice as an alphabet: do you think we are going to go back to the first post for every one of your answers and find the matching phrase from your alphabet choice? No way.

    Posters who post the question number and the full answer: are we supposed to refer to OP to find out the question for each answer? No way.

    Post both the question and the answer in full.
     
    #10
  11. Angle Queen

    Angle Queen Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    On the deuce side, looking to come in
    Dang, I was hoping that using the "quote" function would quote your quoting of Woodrow's quiz with you bolded answers....

    Because I agree with all of them without looking them up! (except #7 and #8....merely because I know nothing of tournament rules :p ).

    Thanks, Woodrow for doing one of these again. They are enlightening.
     
    #11
  12. Timbo's hopeless slice

    Timbo's hopeless slice Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,097
    hey Woodrow, you forgot :

    11. A player leaps across the net in a blind rage believing he has been 'hooked' by the opposing mixed doubles team.

    does he:

    A: storm to the baseline to check 'his' mark in righteous fury, thus fulfilling his destiny

    B: upon failure to find said mark, begin 'hunting for heads'

    C: slink off to TT and create a thread on the issue

    (or)

    D: All of the above
     
    #12
  13. AutoXer

    AutoXer Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    1.
    A. The player that hit the ball (Looks like I really missed this one. I was thinking double bounce. Reading comprehension pownz me.

    2.
    B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off

    3.
    B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

    4.
    B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed

    5.
    B. 78' X 36'

    6.
    A. 1

    7.
    C. Continue playing out a full third set

    8.
    C. Continue playing a full third set

    9.
    A. Yes

    10.
    C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
    #13
  14. db10s

    db10s Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,973
    Location:
    S. FL/Maine
    1.a
    2.b
    3.b
    4.a
    5.b
    6.c
    7.c
    8.c
    9.a
    10.c

    Guesses...
     
    #14
  15. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    Pretty close, Sureshs.
     
    #15
  16. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Answers to come tomorrow. :)
     
    #16
  17. Timbo's hopeless slice

    Timbo's hopeless slice Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,097
    #17
  18. Mauvaise

    Mauvaise Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm not sure vBulletin is that advanced. At least not without separate coding.


    I don't know anything about tournament rules either - I just guessed based on what made sense to me. Which is why I know it'll be wrong. ;)
     
    #18
  19. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Of course # 11 also! :)
     
    #19
  20. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    ANSWERS IN RED

    1. Who is responsible for making the call when a player hits a ball that bounces on the court before going over the net?

    A. The player that hit the ball
    B. The opponent

    2. If a ball falls out of a player's pocket during a point, then later in the match, the same player's hat flies off during a point, what would be the correct ruling, assuming both were called in a timely fashion?

    A. Let both times, since they are two different types of events
    B. Let for the ball falling out, then loss of point for the hat flying off
    C. Loss of point both times because both were hindrances

    3. In doubles, one partner calls a shot out, and when asked, the other partner says, "I don't know, I didn't see it".

    A. The team that originally called it out loses the point because the partner didn't see it and this shows doubt
    B. The call of "out" stands, as both partners don't have to agree on the call, they just can't "disagree".

    4. If one player refuses the 5-minute warm-up prior to a match, then:

    A. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with coaching allowed
    B. The other player is entitled to a 5 minute warm-up with any person of his/her choice, with NO coaching allowed (THE WARM-UP IS CONSIDERED THE START OF THE MATCH WITH REGARD TO TOILET BREAKS AND COACHING, SO NO COACHING ALLOWED DURING THE WARM-UP)
    C. The other player can hit serves for 5 minutes, but can't choose another person to come warm-up with
    D. The warm-up doesn't happen

    5. What are the dimensions of a DOUBLES court

    A. 100' X 36'
    B. 78' X 36'
    C. 78' X 27'

    6. How many dampening devices is a player allowed to have on a racket, assuming placed in the proper position on the racket?

    A. 1
    B. 2
    C. As many as they want

    7. A tournament posted on it's website that all matches would be played, "Best of 3 sets, with a 10-point match tiebreak in lieu of the third set". In one match, the players began to play an actual full set, and the error was discovered at 3-0.

    A. The match is over
    B. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak
    C. Continue playing out a full third set

    8. Same as the question 7, but this time, the error is discovered at 2-1 in the third set.

    A. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a 10-point MATCH tiebreak.
    B. Continue playing until the score reaches 3-1 or 2-2. At 3-1, the match is over. At 2-2 play a STANDARD SET tiebreak (first to 7 by 2).
    C. Continue playing a full third set
    D. Restart the set and play a match tiebreak.

    9. May a tournament referee authorize a player to wear a cell phone in vibrate mode in certain situations such as when the player is an on-call doctor or emergency medical responder?

    A. Yes (IF THE PHONE ACTUALLY "RINGS", THE OPPONENT IS ENTITLED TO THE POINT UNDER THE HINDRANCE RULE)
    B. No

    10. If a player's racket flies out of his hand during the serve, and the serve lands in the proper court, then:

    A. The server can call a let
    B. The receiver can call a let
    C. Play continues, unless the racket hits the net or the receiver's court
    D. The server loses the point based on the hindrance rule
     
    #20
  21. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    11. A player leaps across the net in a blind rage believing he has been 'hooked' by the opposing mixed doubles team.

    does he:

    A: storm to the baseline to check 'his' mark in righteous fury, thus fulfilling his destiny

    B: upon failure to find said mark, begin 'hunting for heads'

    C: slink off to TT and create a thread on the issue

    (or)

    D: All of the above

    I am going to make a proposal to the USTA Rules Committee that this be added to the Friend at Court for 2014 (I think it's too late to get it in the 2013 book).
     
    #21
  22. Mike Y

    Mike Y Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ok, that is interesting, and if I am interpreting this correctly, this came up in a match last week for me, and I called it wrong.

    My opponent hit an overhead at my feet and slightly to the side, very hard, I stuck my racket out, and it basically hit the ground, my strings, and my frame instantaneously. In my view, it hit the ground first, then my racket, and it weakly went over the net, bounced, and had a ton of spin on it. My opponent said after it went over "It hit the ground", I shook my head no, and he hit the ball into the net. He said after the point that the ball hit the ground after the ball hit my racket, and I said no, the shot hit the ground first, then my racket, then over the net. The four of us were in agreement that it was my call, and I said that it was a legal shot since the ball hit the ground, then my racket, then over the net. The other two players and spectators couldn't tell.

    So, in this situation, that call wasn't mine? My opponent should have rightfully claimed the point?
     
    #22
  23. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Yes. This is one exception to the "call it on yourself" rule. Another exception is when you hit a ball that goes "through" the net, it's the opponent's call.
     
    #23
  24. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    But, it's hard to tell for sure right? you have one player that says he got it legally, another player that says he didn't get it legally, and 2 other players and spectators that say they can't tell what happened. :)

    This is why when you watch pro matches, and the umpire misses a call like this, and then they show it in super slow-motion, I am always amused when people complain about the umpire missing such an easy call, and the players are cheating because they didn't acknowledge they did something illegal, when the only way anyone can tell is by watching the super slow-motion. :)
     
    #24
  25. Mike Y

    Mike Y Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Interesting. Seems ripe for abuse. I doubt most people would know that rule, I would think most people would not let the opponent make that call. In my situation, I don't think it hit the ground after it hit my racket, I'm not even sure if that is possible, but it happened so fast.
     
    #25
  26. Mike Y

    Mike Y Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Yeah, this was about a 6'3" 20 year old player smashing an overhead at full speed at almost point blank range. It was virtually impossible to tell exactly what happened.
     
    #26
  27. floridatennisdude

    floridatennisdude Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,975
    Here's one that came up last night...

    When playing a 10 pt match tiebreaker, who serves first and from which side when the 2nd set was decided by a 12 pt tiebreaker?

    I've played a dozen of these over the past few years and my opponents always have a different philosophy.
     
    #27
  28. RedWeb

    RedWeb Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Believe its the same start as if you were playing a full third set. The team that received first in the second set tiebreaker has the honors.
     
    #28
  29. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    The team that received the first point of the 2nd set tiebreak serves the first point of the match tiebreak. You would start the match tiebreak at the opposite end of the court from where you finished the 2nd set tiebreak.
     
    #29
  30. Nellie

    Nellie Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,773
    Hey Woodrow:

    Situation 10 has happened to me a couple of time (where I drop the racquet when serving). I know to pickup the racquet and get ready for the next shot, but every time, my opponents stops and calls a let, claiming that the loud sound from the racquet hitting the court is distracting. Can I claim the point (if the serve was in).
     
    #30
  31. jonnyjack

    jonnyjack Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I originally read this as a double bounce scenario. I didn't know the rule for this though. Thanks.

    Is this for tournaments and league? I know that a sub may be used in league if a player got injured during the warmup. In league, the match is considered have started when the very first serve is struck so I thought that implied that the warm up wasn't exactly the official start. We can also use new lineups if it starts raining during the warm up provided none of the lines have started too.

    I was in a league match earlier this year when our teammates gave us coaching advice right after the warm up. I didn't really want to hear it anyway but my opponent was saying you can't and my teammates were saying the match doesn't officially start until that first serve is struck. They started arguing and I just said, let's play already!

    woodrow1029: Can you show me where the rule is for this? Not doubting you, just want to know where for reference should this come up again. I have looked but I couldn't find it anywhere.
     
    #31
  32. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,581
    Dropping a racket is not cause for a hinderance so play continues. If your serve was in and they failed to return it, you win the point.
     
    #32
  33. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,581
    I like the one where the umpire called a shot good in doubles but the slow motion showed that the ball never hit the guys racket at all. The ball struck the players leg and bounced back to the other side of the court. There's no way the guy didn't know that it hit his leg and not his racket, but he kept his mouth shut and they got the point.
     
    #33
  34. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Different leagues may have different individual rules, but while they can put a sub in during the warm-up (you are correct that the first point actually signifies the start of the match), the warm-up is considered part of the match with regard to the code of conduct, toilet breaks, coaching, medical time-outs, etc.

    As far as warming up with someone other than the opponent if the opponent refuses to warmup, it's USTA Regulations, page 116 of the Friend at Court:


    4.
    Warm-up. A player who refuses to warm-up with the opponent forfeits the
    right to a warm-up. During the warm-up or a re-warm-up, a player may have
    any person hit with the player if the opponent refuses to do so.

    Regulation 10, on page 116-117 states that (I quoted the entire regulation, but the pertinent part to this discussion is the last sentence, which I bolded:

    10.
    No coaching. Except as permitted under Rule 30 of the ITF Rules of Tennis,
    a player may not receive coaching during any suspension or interruption of
    play due to the following:
    a. Medical timeout or bleeding timeout under
    USTA Regulations III.E.1
    and III.E.2.
    ;
    b. Maladjustment of a player’s clothing, footwear, or equipment under
    Rule
    29(b)
    of the ITF Rules of Tennis;
    c. Toilet/change of attire break under
    Rule 29(c) of the ITF Rules of
    Tennis
    and USTA Regulation III.F.; or
    d. Seeking the assistance of the Referee under
    USTA Regulation IV.C.5.

    Coaching is permitted during an authorized rest period between sets under​
    Rule 30
    of the ITF Rules of Tennis and during any other authorized
    suspension of play under either
    USTA Regulation III.D. or Rule 30. A
    temporary interruption of play during which the players do not leave the
    playing area is not a “suspension” of play for these purposes. Coaching is not

    permitted during any warm-up.

     
    #34
  35. floridatennisdude

    floridatennisdude Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,975
    Yep, that's how I've done it. Funny to me how many get it wrong. And then are adamant about it.
     
    #35
  36. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564
    I'm not sure that I agree with that 'dropped raquet can't be called a hindrance' rule. I think I could certainly be distracted/hindered by an opponent loudly dropping a raquet, even moreso than alot of other things that can legitimately be called (hat falling off, ball coming out of pocket, etc). I don't think the person who dropped the raquet should be able to call a let, but I do think that the opponent(s) ought to have that option.
     
    #36
  37. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Well, they don't. :)

    In the Friend at Court, it's clarified in Rule 22

    USTA Comment 22.1:
    May the receiver claim a let if the server loses
    control and grip of the racket and it lands during the service in the server’s

    court?
    No. Such an occurrence is not sufficiently unusual to justify a let.
     
    #37
  38. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564
    I'm (now) aware that they don't. I'm saying I disagree with the rule.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
    #38
  39. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Oh, sorry, I thought you weren't agreeing with the answer. :)
     
    #39
  40. floridatennisdude

    floridatennisdude Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,975
    If your opponent is without a raquet and you can't win the point... you are terrible.
     
    #40
  41. Marcus2137

    Marcus2137 Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    300
    Agreed! If I can't win a point where my opponent lost his/her racket... I'm the ONLY ONE to blame for that, not the racket hitting the ground.
     
    #41
  42. muddlehead

    muddlehead Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    '' Originally Posted by woodrow1029 View Post
    The team that received the first point of the 2nd set tiebreak serves the first point of the match tiebreak. You would start the match tiebreak at the opposite end of the court from where you finished the 2nd set tiebreak.
    Yep, that's how I've done it. Funny to me how many get it wrong. And then are adamant about it.''

    last november 2011, played national 55 and over hard court tourney at indian wells. first match. second set goes to tie breaker. split sets. sitting on the side chairs resting before the start of the third. i say to opponent, because i know this rule, and i'm aware some don't, although i'm thinking at a big tournament like this s/b no problemo, something like " ok, you know i start the third serving from this side, right?" he disagrees. we discuss. he says i'm wrong. i'm way cool with this. can use the extra rest before the third set. and, of course i know i'm correct...a court monitor/official comes down to see what's up. she says, incredibly, even after looking through the rule book, she knows the rule and my opponent is right and i'm wrong...again, no animosity anywhere from any of the three of us. it's all good. neither of our serves is good enough for us to lobby to serve first, so, cheating is not an issue. she leaves to say she'll double check with someone else. we rest more. cool. she comes back 2 minutes later and says my opponent is right, and i'm wrong. whatever. no impact on the match. i'm thinking am i crazy? anyway, i win the third and match. woo hoo. next day, before my second round match, another official seeks me out to say " the official yesterday was incorrect in her ruling etc..."
    no worries. everyone's happy.
    long silly story just to prove no matter where you're playing, when it comes to some rules, you never know...
     
    #42
  43. Avles

    Avles Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    The Peak of Good Living
    That's interesting-- to me it seems inconsistent with the rule that a player is responsible for calling "not up" on himself, as that seems like a pretty analogous situation. What's the justification for the difference?
     
    #43
  44. xFullCourtTenniSx

    xFullCourtTenniSx Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,960
    1) A
    2) B
    3) A
    4) C
    5) B
    6) A
    7) A
    8) B
    9) A
    10) C
     
    #44
  45. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564
    Yeah that's pretty much why I picked "the player that hit the ball" in my original guesses. The 'not up' situation seemed to me to be the closest analogous situation, but apparently not.
     
    #45
  46. Thud and blunder

    Thud and blunder Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    I'll try:

    1 A
    2 B
    3 B
    4 A
    5 B
    6 C
    7 A (applying the 'all points played in good faith stand' principle, although I see the argument for B; it's all well retaining points played in good faith, but when players aren't even clear on their objective (ie they may tank their return game), is this really fair?
    8 D (applying the 'this is one omelette that can't be unscrambled' principle.
    9 A
    10 B
     
    #46
  47. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,093
    'Cause you call things when the ball is on its way to you. Your opponent calls things when the ball is on its way to them.

    If you strike the ball and it bounces before it goes over the net, the problem occurs when the ball is on its way to the opponent. So it is the opponent's call.
     
    #47
  48. Thud and blunder

    Thud and blunder Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    No, you call your side of the net; direction of ball travel is irrelevant.
     
    #48
  49. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,093
    Mmmm . . . that approach doesn't work all the time.

    Say I hit a ball to you that bounces on your side of the court. You swing and shank it, and it barely grazes into a ceiling fixture directly above you.

    That's my call to make, even though it happened on your side of the court.
     
    #49
  50. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564
    Couldn't you have just cited the exact rule being discussed to disprove his claim? :)

    I did recently have an opponent swear up and down that we could not call a let when another court's ball bounced onto our court behind her in the middle of a point, as she didn't see it or call it and only the people on that side of the court can call a let. :confused:
     
    #50

Share This Page