Time for another rules quiz!

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by woodrow1029, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. Thud and blunder

    Thud and blunder Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    767
    Nothing works all the time....having said that, I read the question as a not-up situation. Rereading it, I have no idea what it refers to; it seems you could parse it several ways.
     
    #51
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Here's the Code section from the Friend at Court (page 47):

    20.
    Balls hit through net or into ground. A player makes the ruling on a ball that
    the player’s opponent hits:
    • Through the net; or

    • Into the ground before it goes over the net.
     
    #52
  3. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Yeah, I could have just cited the rule. I was kind of explaining how I remember the rule. To me, it is logical and consistent with the idea that you call things that occur when the ball is on its way to you. That covers the situations Woodrow identified in the quote rule above.

    Maybe I am unusual, but I am always looking for logical ways to remember things. Like, people often get confused about who should serve first in a new set when a tiebreak decided the previous set. I cannot quote the rule. I can say how I remember it: The player who served first in the tiebreak can consider the tiebreak her service game, so that means the other team should serve first in the new set.
     
    #53
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    I think the difference is that the code also says that you are responsible for calling balls that land on or are aimed at your side of the court. Which is great for a not-up, but since once you hit the ball, it is traveling to the other side of the court, so it's the opponent's call.
     
    #54
  5. cneblett

    cneblett Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Racquet then ground

    Had this happen this weekend in tourney. My partner hit the ball which then hit ground and went over. I made the call because I was only person who saw it happen. I assume this is ok from another principle of calling a point against you when you should call ball out. The opponents did not see it hit the ground and thought he got it clean.
     
    #55
  6. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Not only is it OK, it makes you the most honest person ever to play the game! :)
     
    #56
  7. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,733
    I once had a shot hit off my shin and go over for a winner. No one noticed, I didn't tell them until after the match was over--it was rec. I made them buy me a beer. It's much harder to hit a tennis ball with your shin then a racket. I keep my leg hairs strung at 60 lbs.
     
    #57
  8. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Hey, Woodrow, if you're still out there. . . .

    You're intimately familiar with the rules. If you were allowed to change just one rule or Code provision, what change would you make and why?
     
    #58
  9. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    This would make a good new topic.
     
    #59
  10. jmnk

    jmnk Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    actually, is it really --your-- call to make? In general - who makes calls on balls hitting permanent fixture? The player who hit the ball last?
     
    #60
  11. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    I agree with Cindy. The ball is "OUT" as soon as it hits a ceiling/fixture/tree, and you can call balls hit to you as out, even if it later bounces in your court.
     
    #61
  12. jmnk

    jmnk Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    Sure, I agree that the ball is "OUT" as soon as it hits permanent fixture. i'm just not entirely clear on who's call that is.
    So you are saying that the player who's turn it is to hit the ball next is the one to make the call, right? regardless of which side of the court the alleged contact with permanent fixture happened, right?
    i'm not disagreeing, just asking.
     
    #62
  13. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    Right. If the ball bounces/touches anywhere before it hits your court, it's your call that it's out. We have a winter bubble at our club, and I was told this rule after seeing more experienced players call balls moving toward them out as soon as the ball touched the ceiling, regardless of whose side.
     
    #63
  14. Lefty

    Lefty New User

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Simultaneous calls

    Ok, how about this? I move forward on a poach and hit a strong volley off my opponent's leg. After hitting the ball, and after it hit my opponent (my contention), my momentum carries me into the net. My call was that the ball hit the opponent first ending the point and my contact with the net didin't matter as the point was over. My opponent said any momentum from the shot that carried me into the net causes forfeit of the point. I said that's nonsense, but let's play it over (friendly match).

    As I see it the critical call is did I touch the net (my side of the court) before the ball hit my opponent (their side of the court). Who gets to say which happened first?

    Doubt if it'll ever happen again in my life on the court, but I'm curious.
     
    #64
  15. Timbo's hopeless slice

    Timbo's hopeless slice Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    ooooh, I like this one!

    I don't actually know, I guess you hit the net in the act of playing the shot, so you would have lost the point if it had been a clean winner, so you still lose the point I think.

    Or doesn't it count if the ball has already entered the opponent's court when you hit the net? That doesn't sound right?
     
    #65
  16. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    That's easy.

    You should grab your friend by the throat, yank him over the net, and pummel him without mercy until he agrees to stop making up stupid rules about momentum.
     
    #66
  17. Timbo's hopeless slice

    Timbo's hopeless slice Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    LOL

    isn't there something about striking the net in the act of completing the stroke though?

    (stuff like this just never happens in my matches, sigh)
     
    #67
  18. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    It's the players call that touched the net. A touch is always your own responsibility to call on yourself.
     
    #68
  19. jonnyjack

    jonnyjack Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    And the point is over as soon as it hit the player right?
     
    #69
  20. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Correct...
     
    #70
  21. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    The player whom the ball is traveling to.
     
    #71
  22. jmnk

    jmnk Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    regardless of whether the ball hit the proper court already or not? Because if I'm making the call on a ball traveling to me --before-- it bounced on my court than I'm making a call 'for me'. If the ball already bounced on my court, and allegedly touched permanent fixture than I would be making a call 'on myself'.
     
    #72

Share This Page