Two costly bad line calls in Mauresmo-Serena match!!!!

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by BreakPoint, Jul 1, 2004.

  1. BreakPoint

    BreakPoint Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    43,741
    Two bad line calls at the baseline (the one closer to the camera, at the bottom of your screen) cost Mauresmo that match against Serena!! That really pisses me off!!! Both line calls were corrected and replayed with Serena ending up winning both points. My point of contention is that Mauresmo had basically won both of those points!! The shots were so deep that Serena didn't really have a play on them.

    The first one, at 5-6 in the 2nd set, to her backhand she basically already hit it back wide but the ump chose to replay the point. She should have just given Mauresmo that point since Serena's return was out, which wasn't affected by the call anyway. Mauresmo ended up getting broken in that game to lose the 2nd set.

    The second one was at 4-4 in the 3rd. Mauresmo's shot was so deep that Serena hit a weak return short. If there was no call and correction, Mauresmo could have easily come in a put away that sitter near the net. They replayed the point and Serena put in an ace to go up 5-4 in the 3rd.

    I hate to see bad line calling determine the outcome of a close match like this but I feel in this case this is exactly what happened. Mauresmo should be pissed off!! She could have won that match!!! Those bad baseline calls really cost her!! :x :cry:
     
    #1
  2. atatu

    atatu Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,363
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Well, at least they didn't screw the score up.....AM lost because she couldn't hang with Serena physically, not because of the line calls.
     
    #2
  3. Roforot

    Roforot Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,198
    No more than Venus lost b/c of that point screw up did Serena win b/c of those errant calls. I think Amelie's brain tightened up coming so close to the finals and beating a top player; her back is freaking fine! She needs to unwind w/ a psych doctor.
     
    #3
  4. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    They have to get some new line judges. I think they should incorporate shotspot into tennis and stop letting the chair overrule.
     
    #4
  5. Aonex

    Aonex Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    NYC
    I'm not sure, but weren't the chair overrules the correct calls... which is why they had to replay the points, cause the line judges would call Mauresmo's shots out when they were clearly in. Either way, she got hosed.
     
    #5
  6. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, the chair made the right call, but I'll take shotspot over the chair any day.
     
    #6
  7. BreakPoint

    BreakPoint Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    43,741
    Yes, both shots were right on the line. The chair overruled the first one and the linesman corrected himself in the second one. But the point is, Mauresmo would have won both points since the shots were so deep that Serena didn't really have a play on either one. In fact, in the first one, she had already returned it wide when the call was made. The chair should have just given the point to Mauresmo rather than replay the point. It's just like you don't replay an ace on an overrule. In the second, Serena returned the ball very short and Mauresmo had an easy put away at the net. Both came at very critical points and Mauresmo ended up losing both points in the replays. The first one at 5-6, 30-all in the 2nd set, meant Mauresmo may have won that game to get into the tiebreak so she may have had a chance to win the match in straight sets!
    The second at 4-all in the 3rd set meant she may have had a chance to break Serena and then serve out the match! Very disappointing performance by the linespeople on that court yesterday!
     
    #7
  8. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    That's why shotspot all the way!
     
    #8
  9. Stinkdyr

    Stinkdyr Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Agree Rickson, give the chump-ump a video replay....Mac-cam, and make human error a lesser input into the equation.
     
    #9
  10. PJVA

    PJVA Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    What I also noticed was that Serena called the shots out and kept insisting. That type of behavior from Henin gets her called a cheater, but Serena is allowed.
     
    #10
  11. PJVA

    PJVA Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    What was strange also was that both times chalk flew up from those shots. How could the linesperson make a mistake and call them out? He/she must have made the call before the ball even hit the ground.
     
    #11

Share This Page