Umpire screw up

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by tbonegas, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. tbonegas

    tbonegas Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Anybody see the balls up in the Keothavong v Chakvetadze match earlier,when the Russian was allowed to serve, out of turn at the start of the deciding set?
     
    #1
  2. vandre

    vandre Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    Location:
    no man's land
    ^^^^^ what what what???

    someone plz post a vid or something because i can't believe a chair ump at a gs would make a mistake this big!!! this goes way beyond a line call to me!


    btw, what would be the recourse in the situation? would there be any?
     
    #2
  3. EPaps

    EPaps Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Happy Valley
    great thread name. was it after a tiebreak or something? because that might've been the reason for the confusion.
     
    #3
  4. tbonegas

    tbonegas Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Yes it was.The Russian served at the start of the second set breaker and was then allowed to serve at the commencement of the deciding set.A shocking error,the strange thing was that Keothovong nor any of her entourage had the sense to query the mistake until the completion of that first game of the 3rd set.
     
    #4
  5. Element54

    Element54 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    the audacity, I didn't watch the match unfortunately, but would of to support the British player!
     
    #5
  6. tbonegas

    tbonegas Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Not sure about it really.There was awell respected and former tour umpire doing the commentary on Eurosport that had never seen this happen anywhere.He was under the impression that maybe Chakvetadze would also have to serve the next game as well,
     
    #6
  7. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371
    Wow...I'm surprised that no one caught that. Pretty large error, if you ask me. Did it effect the outcome of the match?
     
    #7
  8. tbonegas

    tbonegas Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Dont think it affected the final result,but it was a terrible error for an umpire to make at a grand slam event,and I recall an error a few years ago at Wimbledon whe Venus was on the end of a scoring error in a tie break,I think that umpire that day was not given any more matches for qiute a while
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
    #8

Share This Page