Volleying return of Serve...Legal?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Jerry Seinfeld, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. Jerry Seinfeld

    Jerry Seinfeld Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Is volleying a return of serve legal or must the receiver allow the ball to bounce in the service box before making contact?

    Thanks!
     
    #1
  2. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    You're kidding, right?
     
    #2
  3. Jerry Seinfeld

    Jerry Seinfeld Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    I saw it done in a weekend match I was watching. Am curious to know if it is legal. It was VERY odd to witness.
     
    #3
  4. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    The volleyer of the serve should have lost the point. If he didn't, then the players didn't know what they were doing.
     
    #4
  5. ucd_ace

    ucd_ace Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    You have to let the ball bounce or you lose the point, but if you're playing with someone who doesn't have any idea, it would probably be a pretty good strategy...
     
    #5
  6. Jerry Seinfeld

    Jerry Seinfeld Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Never seen it tried before and was uncertain of the rule. Based on Rickson's response I am going to assume that there is a rule stating that the ball must hit in the service box before it is in play. Correct?

    Hypothetically...what if the receiver is playing in on a second serve? The server hits a hard serve long and the receiver can not get out of way. The receiver sticks racquet out and hits balls before it hits ground to avoid being hit by ball. Ball miraculously goes in play. If receiver was hit by ball, the point goes to server. If ball is volleyed in play point also goes to server because ball did not hit ground...correct? Just verifying. Will go to USTA site and look up ruling.
     
    #6
  7. Bungalo Bill

    Bungalo Bill G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    11,885
    Yes the ball must hit the court before it can be struck. This is why you dont see pros taking serves at the net!
     
    #7
  8. tetsuo10

    tetsuo10 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    In my younger days, for doubles, every now and then I'd aim my serve at the net guy for some cheap points. :twisted:
     
    #8
  9. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    If you can volley a ball that's by the baseline, it's obviously a fault.
     
    #9
  10. papa

    papa Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,071
    If the ball hits you/racquet or your partner/racquet (doubles) before it strikes the surface the point goes to the server. If you catch the ball in the air, even if it appear to you that the ball is going out, the point goes to the server, regardless of where you (or your partner - doubles) are standing.

    You can however be inside the box (including your feet) if you desire but the ball has to hit before you can return it.
     
    #10
  11. Camilio Pascual

    Camilio Pascual Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,822
    Not quite, it could completely miss the service box and not be called a fault, which means it is good. This happens a lot in amateur play with balls going an inch or two long.
     
    #11
  12. lendl lives

    lendl lives Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    this is a good question. i know 4.0 league players who hit powder puff serves that spin and stay low to the ground.
     
    #12
  13. Tennis Guy

    Tennis Guy Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Technically, you still lose the point.
     
    #13

Share This Page