Was Serena penalized for racket abuse?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by sureshs, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,813
    She smashed a racket and broke the head in half at the end of a game in the match against Sloane. Was she penalized by a point in the next game, or fined?
     
    #1
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    She got a code violation warning, and I'm guessing a fine.
     
    #2
  3. Bhagi Katbamna

    Bhagi Katbamna Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,082
    You only get a warning for the first code violation. I'm not sure she got one though. She did pay the ultimate penalty however, by being beaten.
     
    #3
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    She did get a warning
     
    #4
  5. librarysteg

    librarysteg Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,408
    Location:
    IL
    The only fine I've seen make the news was Janowicz getting $2500 for his outburst the first week. Is there a place on the web to get a full run down of all the fines from tournaments?
     
    #5
  6. bluetrain4

    bluetrain4 Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8,894
    She did receive a warning. But, since she didn't do anything else, it didn't lead to greater punishment.
     
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    No. And I pretty sure janowicz fine was for the spitting.
     
    #7
  8. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,813
    OK I can sleep in peace now knowing that the system worked
     
    #8
  9. librarysteg

    librarysteg Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,408
    Location:
    IL
    I think you're right, and hitting the umpire's chair was mentioned. His quote when he found out was sort of funny:

    "For sure I will not believe this because I didn't say anything bad," he said. "I didn't do anything bad. I was just shouting. You get fined for shouting?"

    Read More: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/te...an-open-jerzy-janowicz-fine.ap/#ixzz2J3hNKy1X
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
    #9

Share This Page