Weird shot freezes point

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by jc4.0, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    We were playing a team doubles match and our opponent hit a loopy backspin ball that hit the court a few inches past the net on our side, bounced up high, then went back over the net and bounced on our opponent's side of the court. My partner was right there and could have easily reached over the net to hit the ball before it landed, but instead we all just stopped and stared at it. Not knowing the rules regarding this weird shot, my team took the point but later other players told us my partner could and should have reached over the net to hit the ball and it would be a legal shot, as long as she didn't physically touch the net. I couldn't find this one in the rule books.
     
    #1
  2. Ripper014

    Ripper014 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,863
    The other players are correct... you can reach over and hit the ball... and the point belonged to the other team.
     
    #2
  3. Douggo

    Douggo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    548
    Location:
    Minnesota
    This is the one instance you can reach over the net to hit the ball. Since you didn't, it's your opponents' point.
     
    #3
  4. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    I asked my coach about this today and he said yeah, you can in this one case reach across the net and hit the ball before it hits your opponent's court, in fact you have to do it. Luckily this rarely happens!
     
    #4

Share This Page