Werid ball bounce situation

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by TNIipc2731500, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. TNIipc2731500

    TNIipc2731500 New User

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm pretty sure that this has not happened to anyone or if it did, it would be once in a lifetime.

    I was playing on green clay. My opponent served a ball that caught the back of the service line (tape) I think there must have been a tiny gap b/w the tape and ground. The ball did not bounce but rolled on the ground for 5 feet and then bounced up about 4 feet high, I hit a winner off of it.

    My opponent said it was automatically his point cause it rolled on the ground. I told him that if the ball rolled , never bounced and stopped and I never got it back then it would be his point. Also if the ball continued to roll, didn't bounce up, and rolled past the baseline, it would be automatically his point.

    But in my cause where it bounce up before the baseline and I hit it back after the first bounce it was my point.

    Was I right?
     
    #1
  2. pkshooter

    pkshooter Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    In front of the TV
    Wtf...
    That's the weirdest thing I've ever heard, they probably don't have a rule for that, you should've done the point over.
     
    #2
  3. krz

    krz Professional

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Concrete Jungle Where Dreams are Made
    play a let.
     
    #3
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    It rolled for 5 feet on the ground, then magically jumped 4 feet in the air?

    Seriously?
     
    #4
  5. TNIipc2731500

    TNIipc2731500 New User

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    I believe what I said was correct because this particular shot was done in an anime called Prince of tennis. They show shots that can be done but probably twice in a lifetime.
     
    #5
  6. TNIipc2731500

    TNIipc2731500 New User

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah it's one of the weirdest tennis moment probably of my entire tennis life.
     
    #6
  7. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I bounced a lob off the moon once time. True story.
     
    #7
  8. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Just like a Powerade commercial showed that Roddick could hit a serve so hard, it just sank into the clay and stopped?
     
    #8
  9. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37,239
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    Ball hit a crack, "rolled" some more, then hit a pebble and bounced up.
     
    #9
  10. pkshooter

    pkshooter Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    In front of the TV
    I believed you until you referenced prince of tennis :?
     
    #10
  11. maggmaster

    maggmaster Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,751
    Physics says no....
     
    #11
  12. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,540
    Location:
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    Green Lantern says yes!
     
    #12
  13. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,114
    finally a rules question that stumped woodrow :)
     
    #13
  14. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    You are absolutely correct. :) Along with a question of physics. LOL
     
    #14
  15. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,114
    I cannae change the laws of physics

    [​IMG]
     
    #15
  16. Cormorant

    Cormorant Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Anyone who thinks this isn't possible should maintain their tennis intake and they'll see it happen eventually. I saw a guy in the top 100 do it earlier this year in Dubai; I think it was Lacko, but whoever it was I could probably find the video.
     
    #16
  17. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,114
    what was the ruling?
     
    #17
  18. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,147
    What you need is high-resolution, ground level video to assess whether the ball was continually in contact with the court, thereby being involved in a prolonged bounce, or if it was leaving the surface by a millimeter or 2 and coming back down, thereby being a "20-bouncer."

    Or you could play a let. :)
     
    #18
  19. Cormorant

    Cormorant Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    It was out anyway, so no revisions were needed to the rulebook that day.

    [​IMG]
     
    #19
  20. millicurie999

    millicurie999 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Was there any reaction footage after the serve?
     
    #20
  21. InvisibleSoul

    InvisibleSoul Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,938
    Would love to see it.
     
    #21
  22. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    I think you'll be waiting for quite a while.
     
    #22
  23. Cormorant

    Cormorant Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Apart from the non-regulation ball seen in the clip, what's unconvincing about the footage I posted on page 1?

    [​IMG]
     
    #23
  24. BHiC

    BHiC Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    USA
    I think that if this somehow actually happened, then there would be almost no chance of the ball immediately rolling, without ever leaving the court. There would have to be some small bounces before it got to the returner, so therefore, even if this did somehow take place, I don't see a return of that ball being a legal shot.
     
    #24
  25. defrule

    defrule Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    #25
  26. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,147
    How is that serve out? Didn't hitting the edge of some kind of hinky line cause the weird "non-bounce?"
     
    #26
  27. dak95_00

    dak95_00 Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I think it would count as the ball bouncing twice as it clearly must've hit two different points on the court and the server would win the point. Even if it were more of a skid off of the line, it hit the line (1) and then it hit an uneven part of the court (2) where it jumped up for you to hit it.

    My first though was.....SWEEP THE COURT to make it smooth!

    Either way, a let would've been the way to go to settle any dispute. I've seen crazy things happen but there is no way it was a smooth roll before the large bounce at the end. In golf when a player makes a putt, the ball bounces as it rolls and those greens are smooth and the ball is traveling slower. It's just impossible to think the ball didn't bounce multiple times on its path to jumping back up.
     
    #27
  28. millicurie999

    millicurie999 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    The clip was on a hard court though, making even more weird.
     
    #28
  29. Fifth Set

    Fifth Set Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    California
    #29
  30. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,691
    The ball hit a Higgs boson
     
    #30
  31. millicurie999

    millicurie999 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Harry Potter and the Game of Inches.

    [​IMG]
     
    #31

Share This Page