What the heck?!?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by Praetorian, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. Praetorian

    Praetorian Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,208
    So apparently these professionals cry if someone is moving in the crowd, yet, hinderance is not called when you wave your arms around like a wounded duck during the place?

    Anybody else saw this during the the Karlovic/Del Potro match?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
    #1
  2. Juan Ma Del Pony

    Juan Ma Del Pony Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,218
    Yeah I saw it too and I thought it was a clear hindrance from Karlovic on that overhead from DelPo but it wasn't called...I don't get it?
     
    #2
  3. wimble10

    wimble10 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Yes, it worked once. Del Po missed an overhead in the last game. But in the first set Del Po won the point when Karlovic did that.
     
    #3
  4. millicurie999

    millicurie999 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    That was weird but I doubt DelPo even knew what Evo was doing because he was smiling after he missed his shot (like it was his mistake rather than an interference).
     
    #4
  5. luvn10is

    luvn10is New User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    What really tripped me out was when the commentator said he didn't think it was hindrance when it was apparent Ivo was only waving his racquet to make Delpo miss. That was pure bush league.
     
    #5
  6. luvn10is

    luvn10is New User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Wait...Ivo did that before in this match?
     
    #6
  7. Juan Ma Del Pony

    Juan Ma Del Pony Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,218
    ^^Yes he did it once in the first set, and DelPo won the point, and then again in the second set, and that time DelPo missed the overhead wide.
     
    #7
  8. luvn10is

    luvn10is New User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Wow! That's really shameful. Not just that he did it but that the chair didn't call him on it.
     
    #8
  9. ben123

    ben123 Professional

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,172
    #9
  10. sportsfan1

    sportsfan1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,868
    Apparently, it's a completely legal move, you can wave your arms or whatever, just can't make any noise.
     
    #10
  11. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    I agree that Juan martin likely didn't see Ivo doing it. In addition the Umpire likely didn't see it either. It is true there are no prohibited moves at any time, but you can't do things specifically to distract your opponent.
     
    #11
  12. Tennis_Hands

    Tennis_Hands Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,263
    Location:
    Inside the service box - the business end
    Yet another player, who thinks that having respect for his opponent is not part of the game.
     
    #12
  13. Tenez101

    Tenez101 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,638
    #13
  14. joeri888

    joeri888 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13,120
    If you want to disturb your opponent, don't do this, but just come in. You will get hit in the face occassionally, but it will sure bug your opponent when you charge the net on a sitter of his. You can't make that illegal though.
     
    #14
  15. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,510
    This ^. On hard courts make sure you put extra effort into making your shoes squeak also - shuffle them on the way on. There's no way they can call hindrance on that noise as it happens non-stop during most rallies anyway.
     
    #15

Share This Page