What would've happened if I corrected my call?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by atac, May 19, 2012.

  1. atac

    atac Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Today I was playing in a tournament against this guy, he looked like a high school player. He was a real hot head, screaming after every point he lost, throwing his racket, etc. Three times he hit serves he thought were in, but on the third one I do feel a little guilty because I think I might have been wrong. He hit the serve and I was able to return it, but I called it out, if I would've corrected the call would it be a first serve? Or his point? If he aced me, it would be his point, but since I returned it he would get a first serve, is that right?
     
    #1
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,649
    Not anymore. By the rules now, you lose the point if you correct your call. Even if you put it back in play.
     
    #2
  3. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,554
    ^^ is correct with 1 exception

    On a serve if the ball hits the net, a corrected call is just a let and the server is entitled to repeat the serve but does not get the point.
     
    #3
  4. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    That change went into effect with the 2011 rules. It is very difficult to get people to agree to it, however. Most folks who have been playing for years will still play the old rule, even if they are aware of the new rule.

    For example, the other team calls our ball out, then corrects their call. They always want a do-over. In social tennis, they get the do-over.
     
    #4
  5. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,557
    Location:
    Central Florida

    At our club, the rule has been adopted probably because most of the guys I play with are involved in USTA leagues.
     
    #5
  6. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,554
    I never have trouble getting people to agree to it in social matches.

    I just explain that the reason the rule changed is that since the ball probably hit the line the person who hit that shot probably had the advantage in the point and it's not fair to take that away by making a bad call then reversing it and getting a "do over". It also gives the person who made a bad call 2 chances to win the point. 1st chance is if the ball was indeed out, 2nd chance being if it wasnt out then he still gets to play the point over.

    Just explain those 2 points and any reasonable person sees that it is not fair to ask for a "do over"
     
    #6
  7. g4driver

    g4driver Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,728
    Same here Mikeler.

    People who don't know the rule may ask for a do-over, but in Charleston, the server takes the point. Most people here have been playing for years, but the rule change as been communicated very well. Even in our social non-USTA matches, do overs are a thing of the past.
     
    #7
  8. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    Yeah, ya gotta stick by your guns.

    The only way I would ever offer a do-over if my opponents' reversed their call is if they had given me a do-over previously in that same match.

    Then again, if they offered the do-over, I would decline.
     
    #8

Share This Page