what's a let-court winner?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by goldentiger, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. goldentiger

    goldentiger New User

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Someone used the term and I'm blanking on the definition
     
    #1
  2. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,582
    Maybe it's referring to college rules where the serve can hit the net and you still play it.

    This was done top stop college players from calling "let" when their opponent hit a big serve and/or aced them.
     
    #2
  3. SoBad

    SoBad Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,096
    Location:
    shiran
    Tough to say for sure, but could potentially be a reference to a net-cord winner (when a ball clips the net and lands on the target court in a manner that deprives the player on that court of a reasonable opportunity to win the point).
     
    #3

Share This Page