Whats the call on this return?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Ironwood, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. Ironwood

    Ironwood Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    North of the 49th!
    Playing doubles indoors, my partner returns a sitter from the baseline which the opposing net man pounds hard angled toward the side netting. It bounces high over the screen separating courts, but as the side netting isn't pulled all the way back at his end of the court, he runs around the end and lobs the ball back over the screen into their court. He didn't interfere with play on the adjacent court as they were in the midst of changing sides. It is perfectly legal of course to retrieve wide balls from the adjacent court in outdoor play where there is no netting separating courts, but indoors there is normally a barrier. Our opponents stopped play and suggested we play a let, which we did and lost anyway. Was this return over the screen separating indoor courts still in play?
     
    #1
  2. penpal

    penpal Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    It was still in play and it sounds like your partner made a brilliant play on it. Too bad you weren't filming the match - that'd be one to watch later.

    With that said, I think in this extremely odd case you guys were right to allow your opponents the let. I don't think they should have asked for one, but good on you for replaying the point.
     
    #2
  3. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    Why would you play a let?
     
    #3
  4. Ironwood

    Ironwood Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    North of the 49th!
    Actually, we got a break with the let call, as my partners wide return over the side netting, was another sitter that could have been easily put away. Don't know they stopped play other than the return was so unusual they probably thought something wasn't right.
     
    #4
  5. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,713
    Tangentially, I find some of the most interesting things in tennis, happen with the ball after the point is over, yet most are oblivious to it.
     
    #5
  6. tamdoankc

    tamdoankc Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Travelling the world!
    I've seen pros jump over side barriers to retrieve balls. Sounds legal. Is it legal to use an umpires chair to jump high enough to reach a ball?
     
    #6

Share This Page