What's the ruling here?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Yourtenniscoach, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. Yourtenniscoach

    Yourtenniscoach Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Experienced something last night in a match that I've never encountered in 17 years of tennis! I wasn't sure what to here so I gave him the point. What's the correct ruling here:

    I was serving the ball and my opponent was putting some rediculous backspin on his return (in part because he really didn't know how to hit a ball properly). He once put such rediculous backspin on the ball that it hit the ground and before I could get to the ball it bounced back over the net. Had it either continued on its normal path or even just died I would have been able to get there but the way this happend I wasn't able to even have a chance at the ball.

    Is this just his point? Curious how it should be scored. I've never seen anything like this before.
     
    #1
  2. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    DE
    His point ... although had you been able to get to it you could have hit it even after it crossed the net provided you did not touch his court.
     
    #2
  3. jonnythan

    jonnythan Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,356
    Straight up his point. The ball bounced on your side of the net and then hit the ground again before you touched it. Remember it doesn't matter what it hits once it hits in bounds on your side - the point is his when it hits the netpost, the side fence, your tennis bag, or his side of the court.
     
    #3
  4. cknobman

    cknobman Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,236
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    His point.

    Once the ball touches your court you must make legal contact with it and it must land in the other opponents court otherwise you loose point.
     
    #4
  5. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    That must have been some serve.

    So. Out with it. Did you win the match? :)
     
    #5
  6. RadicalMPfan

    RadicalMPfan Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    If you hit the ball after it bounces back to the opponents courts, can you balance your self with your racquet on the other side?(without touching the net of course)
     
    #6
  7. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    DE
    no ... neither you nor your equipment can touch the opponents playing surface or the net.
     
    #7
  8. jonnythan

    jonnythan Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,356
    Imagine lobbing back a very wide shot from outside the net and then rushing forward to play the return from right in front of your opponent.
     
    #8
  9. Loose Cannon

    Loose Cannon Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    384
    Had a guy that did this in HS a few times.....

    It was called 'Ancient Chinese Spin'
     
    #9
  10. Yourtenniscoach

    Yourtenniscoach Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Lost 1-6, 7-6, 4-6
     
    #10

Share This Page