When you call a ball out, then realize it was in

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by HunterST, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    What's the official rule for this situation? It has happened to me a few times, and I've just given the point to my opponent to be safe. Isn't the actual rule that, if your return would have been in, you replay the point?
     
    #1
  2. Winners or Errors

    Winners or Errors Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,497
    You did it according to the rules.
     
    #2
  3. RoddickAce

    RoddickAce Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,461
    That only happens in officiated matches where the call was made by a line judge/umpire.
     
    #3
  4. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    The old rule was that, if you hit a return that was in, but then corrected your out call, then you replayed the point.

    The new rule is that if you call a ball out, then realize it was in, you give up the point immediately. It doesn't matter if you returned it. As soon as you called it out, the point was over. If you were wrong and admit it, you lose the point.

    Don't let that stop you from correcting your bad out calls. I've had to do this a few times.
     
    #4
  5. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    DE
    Not exactly correct ... the old rule used to be that if you corrected your call you replayed the point unless the next ball you hit was a weak sitter. If you had hit a weak sitter then you were to award the point to the opponent. I think the rule change cleared up that grey area.
     
    #5

Share This Page