Who remembers Roddick getting upset and serving...

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by deltox, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    the ball INTO the clay.


    http://www.break.com/index/powerful_serve.html

    This is one of my favorite clips of all time and wanted to share.. i checked and didnt see it posted on the forums but it could have been in the past.. if it was.. i apologize.
     
    #1
  2. gj011

    gj011 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,548
    Location:
    Back from prison
    This is a Powerade commercial. Not real.
     
    #2
  3. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    shh you ruined it.. yes it was a powerade commercial
     
    #3
  4. brucie

    brucie Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,318
    Hahha cool clip!

    Dont think its real mind you, all these guys on here will tell you so... its been posted before as you say and if i remember rightly it was just an advert!

    anyway cool clip lol

    ok as i said... but somehow you both replied in the time it took me to post!
     
    #4
  5. gj011

    gj011 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,548
    Location:
    Back from prison
    What is the actual rule in this case. Would this be a point for Roddick or a let?
     
    #5
  6. brucie

    brucie Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,318
    Id assume its rods point bein as the ball is stationary and on the court
     
    #6
  7. FlamEnemY

    FlamEnemY Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,554
    But the receiving player must wait for the ball to bounce. He isn't allowed to return the ball before it bounces off the ground.
     
    #7
  8. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Even I have no idea. LOL
     
    #8
  9. dextor

    dextor Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    If it were real:
    THE GUY SERVED SO HARD IT ACTUALLY WENT INTO THE CLAY HE DESERVES THE POINT.
     
    #9
  10. gj011

    gj011 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,548
    Location:
    Back from prison
    LOL, I was counting on you to give accurate answer :)
     
    #10
  11. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    if the ball takes a bad hop off the lines in clay, or skids on some bad patch of grass, the same with this. if it were to happen it would be point because if it was a let then any miscut or brown patch on grass could cause the same thing.

    This is my presumption of course.. i just dont see the courts being blamed much like you cannot replay points because of fan noise.

    if someone served to me and it happened, id concede the point for sure =p
     
    #11
  12. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    I say Roddick's point..
     
    #12
  13. tudwell

    tudwell Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,408
    Code violation: ball abuse.
     
    #13
  14. tahiti

    tahiti Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    840
    I've seen this on youtube before, hilarious! They should surely play the point again. But there was a big hole in the court, how do you fix that? They surely can't play on?
     
    #14
  15. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    It's a clay court. Fixable. Doesn't matter, it didn't happen in a real match. Are there any physics majors or scientists that could tell us if this could even possibly really happen?
     
    #15
  16. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    first time i saw it was confused as to what to do next to. it would truely cause an unkown rule somewhere to become active i would guess.
     
    #16
  17. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    the guy on youtube that i found this thread on the first time showed it was possible but not with flat or topspin balls.. it would have to be hit at the 1st serve speed but with backspin instead of top or sidespin. and there would need to be a slight imperfection in the clay.

    but im not a scientist , im just passing along what i read couple months possibly years back
     
    #17
  18. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    The ball hasn't bounced twice yet, so the point is still live. As a receiver you'd go up and try to "sand wedge" back the return.
     
    #18
  19. dincuss

    dincuss Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    World
    Probably Roddicks.

    I know this one guy from my club who said her played somewhere and he dug up some ground with his racquet and was fined 200$. So I guess Roddick would get fined for being so strong.
     
    #19
  20. egn

    egn Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,973
    lol true that..point is not dead
     
    #20
  21. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    after further research it would fall under the category of malfunctioned equipment and the point woul dbe replayed

    as evident by the isner safin match in indian wells
     
    #21
  22. Joseph L. Barrow

    Joseph L. Barrow Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,249
    You'd only get one swing at it, though, and then it would be a double hit.:lol:
     
    #22
  23. tahiti

    tahiti Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    840
    Now that would have been the shot of all time! :)I didn't realise it wasn't a real match. Still rather funny that the court was so "dentable." Roddick must served like thunder with a dud ball.
     
    #23
  24. Fiercer

    Fiercer Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    Didn't bounce at all, now did it? Can't hit it until after the bounce.:p

    How fun thing's would be if physics didn't work properly like in the video...
     
    #24
  25. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Hmmm......
     
    #25
  26. RCizzle65

    RCizzle65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,928
    What happened in that match?
     
    #26
  27. jms007

    jms007 Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    832
    They literally broke a ball.
     
    #27
  28. Leublu tennis

    Leublu tennis Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    Moldova
    Hey, thats a good one.
     
    #28
  29. deltox

    deltox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    NC, USA
    isner hit a forehand and safin literally whiffed on the forehand return.. he grabbed the ball showing the ump it had popped and they replayed the point
     
    #29
  30. RCizzle65

    RCizzle65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,928
    Oh, that happened with Federer and Nadal too, Nadal broke a ball I think and Fed asked to replay the point and they gave it to him since they were still in the middle of a rally when it broke, the vid was on Federermagic's youtube but that's been down for awhile.....
     
    #30

Share This Page