Who won this point

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by aceX, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    I hit a stroke that was in. Opponent framed the ball. The ball managed to just get over the net - bounced once on my side. Without me touching the ball it went back over the net and double bounced on my opponents side.
     
    #1
  2. Netspirit

    Netspirit Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4,245
    Location:
    Snoqualmie, WA
    He won it.
     
    #2
  3. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Oh okay, how come?
     
    #3
  4. AznHylite

    AznHylite Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    That's because the ball managed to touch your side of the court first. If the ball bounces on your side, it's your ball to hit now. Because it managed to go back to the your opponent's side, the point becomes his. I hope that makes sense! :???:
     
    #4
  5. theZig

    theZig Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    you have to hit the ball into his court, it's not about where the ball lands the second time. from a technical standpoint, his shot bounced twice and therefore he won. you were allowed in that situation (and to my knowledge, only in this situation) to reach over the net and hit it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
    #5
  6. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    I was thinking, though:

    Opponent hits a ball thats going out, so I don't hit it. Why didn't I hit the ball? Because its going out anyway.

    Ball bounces on my side but is going back over anyway. Why didn't I hit the ball? Because its going in anyway.
     
    #6
  7. [d]ragon

    [d]ragon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,466
    Yes. If a ball bounces on your side but bounces backwards to your opponents side due to spin or wind, you can reach over and hit the ball before it bounces twice and without touching the net. It happened to Roddick one match and apparently he didn't know that
     
    #7
  8. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Wow :shock: I thought it was all about the ball lands.
     
    #8
  9. theZig

    theZig Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    but you weren't the one who hit the ball in. if the ball had hit the net, or close to the net instead of actually clearing the net after the bounce you'd have no qualms, i'm sure. its the fact that after his shot landed in your court, it bounced twice. the point therefore was over. doesn't have to "bounce twice in your court", just has to hit the ball in your court. after that, if it bounces twice, the point is awarded to him.
     
    #9
  10. theZig

    theZig Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    way to take something out of context, lol
     
    #10
  11. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    So I could catch the ball on my racquet and then walk to the net and drop it on my opponents side?
     
    #11
  12. theZig

    theZig Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    what? where does anything in the thread lead to that
     
    #12
  13. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Isn't the only reason we have a racquet so we can get the ball back onto the opponents side?
     
    #13
  14. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Sorry a bit of a random thought.

    So the racquet must make contact with the ball. Is it specified how long that contact can or cannot be?
     
    #14
  15. theZig

    theZig Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    right. so "you" can. you didn't hit the ball that bounced back on the opponent's side. think of it this way, when a winner is hit the ball bounces in your court, and then bounces again either on a wall or out of the court, right? does the winner not count because the second bounce bounced out of the court? of course not. the rule is simple, after the ball bounced in your court, if it bounces again, regardless of where, your opponent gets the point. you have to hit it before it bounces twice, back into his court. key point being, you have to hit it.
     
    #15
  16. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    What if I swing at the ball and although I miss it, the wind generated from my swing pushes the ball back over? "I" still got the ball back
     
    #16
  17. theZig

    theZig Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    are you honestly asking this?
     
    #17
  18. T1000

    T1000 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,405
    Location:
    Connecticut
    This thread should be deleted, it's as bad as some in the pro player discussion section.
     
    #18
  19. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    You must make contact with the racket on the ball to win the point after it bounces in on your side of the court.

    If backspin carries it back to the other side of the net from you this is the only case where can reach over the net and hit the ball but it must make contact with your racket.

    It is really hard to believe this is a serious thread.
     
    #19
  20. PeterPanda

    PeterPanda Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    CT
    I second that oppinion TW!
     
    #20
  21. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Yes, the tennis player guides the ball back into play. In this case I was not able to reach the ball but luckily some divine intervention guided the ball into play.
     
    #21
  22. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    24.PLAYER LOSES POINT
    The point is lost if:
    b.The player does not return the ball in play before it bounces twice
    consecutively

    25.A GOOD RETURN
    It is a good return if:
    a.The ball touches the net,net posts/singles sticks,cord or metal cable,strap or
    band,provided that it passes over any of them and hits the ground within the
    correct court;except as provided in Rule 2 and 24 (d);or
    b.After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net,the player reaches over the net and plays the
    ball into the correct court,provided that the player does not break Rule 24;or
    c.The ball is returned outside the net posts,either above or below the level of
    the top of the net,even though it touches the net posts ,provided that it hits
    the ground in the correct court;except as provided in Rules 2 and 24 (d);or
    d.The ball passes under the net cord between the singles stick and the adjacent
    net post without touching either net,net cord or net post and hits the ground
    in the correct court,or
    e.The player ’s racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on the player ’s
    own side of the net and the ball hits the ground in the correct court;or
    f.The player hits the ball in play,which hits another ball lying in the correct
    court.

    Show me the rule which says my return wasn't good.
     
    #22
  23. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    .After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net,the player reaches over the net and plays the
    ball into the correct court,provided that the player does not break Rule 24


    The key word being played the ball. To play the ball you must hit it with your racket.
     
    #23
  24. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    I can't find this rule in the ITF rules. Which number is it?
     
    #24
  25. Roy125

    Roy125 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    It's your opponent's point. It bounced inside your court first and then double-bounced. It doesn't really matter where the double-bounce is.
     
    #25
  26. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    yep ^ this is how it goes.
     
    #26
  27. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    I pulled the quote from your post.

    25.A GOOD RETURN
    It is a good return if:
    a.The ball touches the net,net posts/singles sticks,cord or metal cable,strap or
    band,provided that it passes over any of them and hits the ground within the
    correct court;except as provided in Rule 2 and 24 (d);or
    b.After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net,the player reaches over the net and plays the
    ball into the correct court,provided that the player does not break Rule 24
    ;or
    c.The ball is returned outside the net posts,either above or below the level of
    the top of the net,even though it touches the net posts ,provided that it hits
    the ground in the correct court;except as provided in Rules 2 and 24 (d);or
    d.The ball passes under the net cord between the singles stick and the adjacent
    net post without touching either net,net cord or net post and hits the ground
    in the correct court,or
    e.The player ’s racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on the player ’s
    own side of the net and the ball hits the ground in the correct court;or
    f.The player hits the ball in play,which hits another ball lying in the correct
    court.
     
    #27
  28. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Oh sorry I meant where did you get the rule that says to play the ball you must hit it with your racquet
     
    #28
  29. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    The key word being played the ball. To play the ball you must hit it with your racket.

    You can't "play" the ball unless you hit it. I really find it hard to believe this is that hard to see.
     
    #29
  30. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Yeah this one. Where did you get that from?
     
    #30
  31. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    Seriously you have a comprehension problem that I can't seem to get past. Just forget it and move on.
     
    #31
  32. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Dude there's no need to be like that. I'm honestly asking where in the rules is says "To play the ball you must hit it with your racket."
     
    #32
  33. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412

    Why are you asking the question if you're going to argue when you get the answer? Everyone knows it was your opponent's point. I know it seems like a freak occurrence, but it happens quite frequently and everyone knows that's the rule.

    Think about it. Why would it be your opponent's job to return his own shot?
     
    #33
  34. Roy125

    Roy125 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    There's no direct rule that says you must hit the ball with your racket (I think) but you will lose the point if you touch the ball with anything except your racket.
     
    #34
  35. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,540
    Location:
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    Just to answer a couple of your previous questions:

    24. PLAYER LOSES POINT
    The point is lost if:

    f. The player deliberately carries or catches the ball in play on the racket or
    deliberately touches it with the racket more than once; or

    i. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or
    carrying, except the racket; or
     
    #35
  36. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Honestly if someone shows me the rule in the ITF rulebook that says "To play the ball you must hit it with your racket." then I will say "Okay I lost the point".

    It's my opponent's job to keep the ball in play. It bounced once on my side then onto his, just like the thousands of points I've ever played; it's still in play.

    This is a case where I'm thinking for myself and won't just accept what people say and follow it like a sheep. If its in the official rules then I'll accept it since this is the sport I choose to play and without rules there would be no game.
     
    #36
  37. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Wow so can you actually hit it twice if it's an accident?
     
    #37
  38. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,540
    Location:
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    25. A GOOD RETURN
    It is a good return if:

    After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24; or

    You failed to do that, so you lost the point.
     
    #38
  39. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,540
    Location:
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    Yes. With one continuous swing. It's a miss-hit.
     
    #39
  40. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    But what is the definition of "play" in the official rules?

    Is using my telekinesis to get the ball back over "play"?
     
    #40
  41. Dags

    Dags Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    25. A GOOD RETURN
    It is a good return if:
    b. After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the
    ball
    into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24; or

    In this rule, we ascertained that you must play the ball. I hope you can agree that play the ball requires some positive action from your part.

    24. PLAYER LOSES POINT
    The point is lost if:
    i. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or
    carrying, except the racket;

    So you have to take positive action. You can't touch the ball with anything other than the racquet. Therefore, we can deduce that play the ball must equate to hit it with your racquet.

    Q.E.D.
     
    #41
  42. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    What if I use telekinesis?
     
    #42
  43. Dags

    Dags Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    Then you'll spend your life fighting crime, and won't have time to play tennis. Shame.
     
    #43
  44. salsainglesa

    salsainglesa Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    where are the facepalm images?
    We need one right now!!
     
    #44
  45. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,540
    Location:
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    Come on. Stop it.
     
    #45
  46. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    What if the positive action is me swinging my racquet and the wind I generate makes it go over?

    Hahahaha, I need to rethink how to spend my free time!
     
    #46
  47. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    You lost the point. Get over it.

    This is seriously common knowledge. Why do you think there is a special rule that you can reach over and hit a ball if it's bouncing back to the other side? Because you still have to play the ball in this scenario!
     
    #47
  48. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Honestly it does seem weird that they don't formally define 'play'.
     
    #48
  49. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Studying mathematics I've learned to never assume. That's the only reason I'm being picky about what play means.
     
    #49
  50. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    Alright, "playing" does not mean standing around and hoping the ball will bounce back to the other side, or swinging and missing. It's not an assumption. Everyone knows it.
     
    #50

Share This Page