Who won this point

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by aceX, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Dags

    Dags Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    I suggest you study physics too, then you could formulate your own proof about how fast you would need to swing the racquet to generate the required wind to reverse the path of a tennis ball and blow it back over the net. On the plus side, having done so you'd realise you must have another super power to go with the telekinesis.
     
    #51
  2. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    #52
  3. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Hahaha maybe I could have a string pattern so dense that my racquet is like a solid board
     
    #53
  4. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    #54
  5. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,540
    Location:
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    Then you wouldn't be able to swing it so fast to create the required wind.

    I can picture it already. A racquet with a swingweight of 6780.
     
    #55
  6. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    Haha alright, after reading the telekinesis post and the solid board thing I can see that you're just kind of joking around. Before I just read the posts saying things like "define 'play'" and I thought you were desperate to convince yourself you won the point.
     
    #56
  7. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    I reckon Roddick would have the arm to do it, though :)
     
    #57
  8. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    For sure I won the point unless the rules say I gonna lose, no?
     
    #58
  9. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    Haha, everyone has proved that you lost the point. Now you're just trolling.
     
    #59
  10. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Only Dags has provided any sort of "proof". But that required a leap from "play" to "positive action" and another leap from "positive action" to "physical contact". Not exactly a sound proof if you ask me ;)
     
    #60
  11. Badger

    Badger Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Corcaigh, Éire
    Yeah they make up the rules as they go in exhibition matches... seriously?? Come on.

    You lost the point. Everyone knows it.

    You cannot use anything but your racket to get the ball over the net, what are you doing playing tennis if you don't know that?
     
    #61
  12. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Obviously you were not blessed with telekinesis and/or solid board racquet.
     
    #62
  13. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Say you're playing a match where the loser will be killed. You're down match point. This happens. Are you going to say "okay great point you can kill me" or are you going to argue for your life?
     
    #63
  14. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    You're a troll.
     
    #64
  15. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    What is the definition of "troll"?
     
    #65
  16. Badger

    Badger Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Corcaigh, Éire
    Okay, you're an idiot for putting your life on a tennis match. The key word here is tennis, your playing a tennis match, so you play by the rules of tennis. So by the rules of tennis you lost the point and would nave lost the match, so to not accept it is called cheating.
     
    #66
  17. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    But it doesn't say in the rules of tennis that "play" = hit the ball with your racquet...
     
    #67
  18. Badger

    Badger Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Corcaigh, Éire
    Read your sig.
     
    #68
  19. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    So what is your definition of play? You're the voice of dissent here, so you have to provide the alternate definition.
     
    #69
  20. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Hahahaha unfortunately my sig is not the rules of tennis
     
    #70
  21. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Ah now we're talking.

    Play = have the ball bounce inside the opponents court according to the rules
     
    #71
  22. tennis_balla

    tennis_balla Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,667
    Location:
    Here and There
    So it took 4 pages and 66 posts for the troll word to come out?
    Very very disappointing.
     
    #72
  23. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    Now the rule is:


    25. A GOOD RETURN

    It is a good return if:
    b.
    After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the
    ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24


    Now it says explicitly in the rule book "reach over the net and play." So that implies that you have to make contact. If your argument was correct, there would be no need to reach over.

    Further, your definition was "have the ball bounce back inside the opponent's court". The word "have" implies that you have performed an action to create a response.
     
    #73
  24. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    It's just kinda fun arguing with him, haha.
     
    #74
  25. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Yes... yes.... I think now is the right time to reveal that around post 20 I did a little bit of investigation and found this.

    "play -v ... 11 (also absol.) strike (a ball etc.) or execute (a stroke) in a game." - The Pocket Oxford Dictionary

    Yes I don't think I'm doing anyone any harm. I don't know why people are calling for this to be deleted and so on. This whole time I've been replying with a smile on my face and have been enjoying this discussion. People who call for this to be deleted take this forum way too seriously.
     
    #75
  26. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Abbreviation for absolute:

    c: of a verb : having no object in the particular construction under consideration though normally transitive <kill in “if looks could kill” is an absolute verb>
     
    #76
  27. T1000

    T1000 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,366
    Location:
    Connecticut
    If this wasn't valid the first time I said it on the first page than it is now
     
    #77
  28. RoddickAce

    RoddickAce Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,467
    Well, the easiest (though slightly trivial) way to prove whether or not you lost the point was that you didn't reach over the net to "play" the ball. So did you reach over the net?

    25. A GOOD RETURN

    It is a good return if:
    b.
    After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun
    or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the
    ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24
     
    #78
  29. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    If this wasn't valid the first time I said it then it is now.
     
    #79
  30. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Actually I did reach over the net!!!!
     
    #80
  31. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    If the ball bounces on your side in the court and you don't touch the ball with the racket you lose the point. The definition of "playing" tennis means using your racket to hit the ball. There is no assumption about that. If that is beyond your comprehension then maybe tennis just isn't your sport.
     
    #81
  32. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Says who? You? Should I send all my money to Nigeria because someone says they can pay me back double?

    It seems like something this important should be covered by ITF rules. I shouldn't have to rely on some random on a forum telling me that it is beyond my comprehension.
     
    #82
  33. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    Lol you can't admit you were knew you were wrong and were just arguing for fun and then go back to doing it!
     
    #83
  34. Roy125

    Roy125 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    This is a the definition of play:

    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/play

    Happy now? You actually have to hit the ball.
     
    #84
  35. Zachol82

    Zachol82 Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,267
    I don't know if you're trolling or if you simply don't get it. If the ball bounces IN on YOUR side because your opponent hits it, then you MUST get to it before it bounces a second time. It does not matter where the ball go AFTER it bounces, you have to get it back in to your opponent's side of the court.

    As for the question on if you "swung at the ball, didn't hit it but the wind from your swing carries the ball over the net," well sir, you did NOT HIT THE BALL. What do you think the result would be if you missed the shot?

    Personally, I think you're trolling...either that or you're just a......
    ...ok well, I'll just assume you're trolling.
     
    #85
  36. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    Yeah I already posted one from the oxford dictionary. Didn't you see it?
     
    #86
  37. shindemac

    shindemac Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,241
    Third this.
     
    #87
  38. SteveI

    SteveI Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,353
    Trash can!!! :). Have to agree!
     
    #88
  39. jester911

    jester911 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    I agree. This is like trying to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and it annoys the pig.
     
    #89
  40. shindemac

    shindemac Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,241
    Third this again.

    Btw, I won this point!
     
    #90
  41. meltphace 6

    meltphace 6 Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    /dev/null
    OP = maroon
     
    #91
  42. obtn

    obtn Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    At least after wasting several minutes of my life reading this thread, I got to see this clip.
     
    #92

Share This Page