Who's the pro who did the racket-hurl winner?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by x Southpaw x, Jul 10, 2005.

  1. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    Posting same question here in case nobody reads the Rants&Raves board.

    Anyone know who was the male pro who did a dive-volley racket-hurling lob-winner? The one I saw was on grasscourt. I don't think there's any other person who was successful with a racket-hurl return.
     
    #1
  2. fedex27

    fedex27 Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    that was me
     
    #2
  3. GOOOOOGA

    GOOOOOGA Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    looks alot like grosjean. not sure tho
     
    #3
  4. Tennis_baller

    Tennis_baller Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    I think you lose the point if the racket it not in your hands when you make contact with the ball.
    *edit* i know you lose the point
     
    #4
  5. TEAMRAFA

    TEAMRAFA Rookie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    thats the only point i saw that had someone throwing their racquet for the save and being successful.
     
    #5
  6. lidoazndiabloboi

    lidoazndiabloboi Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    781
    jimmy conners once threw his racquet up when he was at the net. the ball hit the racquet and bounced over like a drop shot. he got the point
     
    #6
  7. RafaN RichardG

    RafaN RichardG Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    760
    so you can actually throw your racquet and win the point? My friend did that, he actually practiced the shot- but it wasn't in a real tournament so I wasn't sure if it was legal or not.
     
    #7
  8. Tennis_baller

    Tennis_baller Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    #8
  9. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    LOL, that's a lot funnier than it is spectecular :p
     
    #9
  10. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    Unless an update change was made... I guess he's right...
    I wonder why the heck Connors and Grosjean did it then.
     
    #10
  11. Tennis_baller

    Tennis_baller Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Told ya so :)
     
    #11
  12. Babblelot

    Babblelot Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Likely a rules change since Connors did it circa 30 years ago.

    They recently changed the rule with respect to the "two-touch" rule. Historically, if the ball, say, struck your strings/frame twice in one motion they used to say the point was over. Today, however, as long as the "two-touches" occur in one continuous motion (as opposed to deflecting it, then swatting at it), the point is still alive.
     
    #12
  13. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    Wow, you serious? Can you copy&paste a copy of the rule please?
    It's rare but it does happen to my doubles partner and my opponents since I hit quite hard with topspin and my opponent double-hits in one motion while trying to counter drive.
     
    #13
  14. AJK1

    AJK1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    Yeah i saw connors do that, but he DID NOT win the point! Much to the fans disgust. You must be holding the racquet when contact is made.
     
    #14
  15. Kevin Patrick

    Kevin Patrick Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,025
    2004 Australian, Safin hit a dive volley-lob vs. Blake in which the racket came out of his hand at contact. Blake complained to the chair, to no avail. You could see it more clearly on slow-mo replay.
    Legal or not, one of the most amazing shots I've seen.
     
    #15
  16. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    Safin's such a charismatic guy... I use his racket =D or at least what his racket is advertising...
     
    #16
  17. kian

    kian New User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    I posted this reply in your Rant & Raves thread.

    I would think you're intelligent enough to differentiate between a Caucasian and an Asian?

    Pretty obvious its Sebestien Grosjean don't you think then?
     
    #17
  18. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    Nope. Couldn't see their faces from so far. I don't know how the Taik-something something looks like either. And both were wearing caps. Sun shining down too.
     
    #18

Share This Page