Winning a USTA sanctioned tournament...question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Ipster, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Ipster

    Ipster New User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    My doubles partner and I entered our first USTA sanctioned tournament this weekend and won. :) There were 16 teams in our draw. Women's 3.0. We had four matches and won all four in straight sets.

    I've been playing tennis for 2.5 years and I just finished my 3rd USTA adult 3.0 season.

    How does this factor into ones dynamic rating? Is it just like winning 4 times during league play?
     
    #1
  2. tennis_tater

    tennis_tater Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    As far as I understand the rules, these tournament matches should not factor into your USTA league NTRP. If you played tournaments exclusively, you would generate a "T" rating based upon your tournament results. But since you play league, you will generate a NTRP rating based exclusively off of your adult league results.
     
    #2
  3. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    I believe the various USTA sections handle tournament results differently. In the Southern section, tournament results don't count towards your rating if you also play in league. But I think some other sections do consider tournament results along with league results in your rating.
     
    #3
  4. Ipster

    Ipster New User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    I'm in the Florida section.
     
    #4
  5. J_R_B

    J_R_B Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    Newtown, PA
    I'm not sure how FL handles it, but sections have an option to include tournament matches in the year end NTRP calculation. They are not included in the DNTRP calculations during the year and cannot be strikes against a self-rated league player.
     
    #5
  6. Ipster

    Ipster New User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    I emailed the coordinator for our area and she said that USTA sanctioned tournament results do not count toward the year end dynamic rating.
     
    #6

Share This Page