Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Moonball aproach shot (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=1138)

Ben42 03-10-2004 06:52 AM

Moonball aproach shot

Have many of you used a heavy topsping moonball as an approach shot?

I ended up doing a lot of that last night, because this guy was eating up any of my slice approaches that were not right on the baseline.

I'm talking Thomas Muster, 10 feet over the net, windshield wiper , super duper heavy topspin forehand approach shots to this guys backhand. (I'm lefty he's righty) :twisted:

It was really nasty. I just don't know why I've never done it, or seen it done very much before.

@wright 03-10-2004 07:18 AM

Ben, I'll tell you why you haven't seen this shot used much before-it's not logical. This isn't a bad thing though, you'll get a few free points trying it because the other guy will be so surprised, or he may not be good at ripping slow high balls, it depends on what level you're playing at. I'd say some 4.0's and up will punish a moonball approach more times than not. Obviously, it gives your opponent a nice angle to rip the ball down at your feet and really get some pace on it. That said, if you try it and it works, keep doing it! It's kind of like the lob approach, it makes no sense at all, and based on that, it's going to be genius, or horrible depending on the situation.

Ben42 03-10-2004 10:12 AM

Why isn't it logical? I don't see it being that different from a kick serve.

Like I said, I'm not talking about an Andrea Yeager no pace flat moonball. It's a heavy ball with loads of action. (Do you remember Thomas Muster?) When it hits it jumps.