Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Former Pro Player Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Has anyone here seen Carl Uwe Steeb play? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=130399)

Shaolin 04-27-2007 01:44 PM

Has anyone here seen Carl Uwe Steeb play?

Just looking for some info on Carl Steeb.

Im curious since a guy that I used to play all the time, a really good German player, mentioned that he had a win on him in the juniors. I didnt think much of it at the time since I had never heard of Steeb (I started playing in 94 and didnt really watch anyone but Sampras for a few years) but when I noticed he was playing the Champions tour with Rios, MeEnroe etc I looked him up. He had some really good wins, beating guys like Ivanisevic, Courier, Agassi and even Muster (on clay).

Just wondering if anyone here saw him play and what style he played, his main weapons etc. I assume he was a good baseliner from the clay results.

sandy mayer 04-27-2007 01:52 PM

From what I remember he had a massive forehand but not much of abackhand.

Moose Malloy 04-27-2007 01:56 PM

I saw him play Becker at the '92 US Open(pretty close match I think) Really viscious lefty forehand, big swing, heavy topspin. For some reason I think he resembled Verdasco.

He won a ridiculously long match against Wilander in the '88 Davis Cup Final(on clay) They show highlights of this davis cup final on TTC sometimes, I think I have it on tape.

I most remember him for being on the other side of the net during a pathetic tank job by Agassi in the '89 Davis Cup SF, when Mary Carillo & Drysdale just tore Agassi to shreds.

Condoleezza 04-27-2007 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shaolin (Post 1407606)
Just looking for some info on Carl Steeb.