Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Health & Fitness (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Pain between thumb and index finger (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=137386)

three eights 06-07-2007 05:23 AM

Pain between thumb and index finger

I'm fairly new to tennis (few months now) and been playing quite a bit in the past couple of weeks. Lately i've noticed that during and after games (and sometimes hours after) i have a lot of pain in the muscle tissue between my index finger and thumb of my hitting hand. Doe anyone know why this is happening? will it go away? am i doing anything wrong?

also.... my knees have been going thorough rough times and sometimes its hard to sit up/down.

krprunitennis2 06-07-2007 05:33 AM

Shoes. Are you using tennis shoes or running shoes? The first months I've played tennis, I thought that shoes don't matter that much. Until I felt pain in my knees when I was going up the stairs in my school. I don't know anything about your thumb/index thingy.

RedWeb 06-07-2007 05:58 AM

If the pain is at the base of your thumb it could be cartilage issues, as in its wearing out. If it is between the base of thumb and index finger might be small tendon strain. If your hold your hand still and flex your thumb back and forth and there is pain then its probably the first. Might be a little arthritis in that area.

three eights 06-07-2007 06:28 AM

I use my running shoes, Asics GT2110. Is that bad? I thought it might be the shoes cause i run with no knee problems. I'm 26 btw.

Regarding my main concern. The pain is between the base thumb and index. I almost think it's because i get hit hard with lots of top spin where the racquet pushes back into that part of the hand. Does it make sense?

TheHuntor 06-23-2007 11:31 AM

i know what you mean...