Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tips/Instruction (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Help in instruction of a young beginner (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=153738)

Dominik 08-29-2007 01:21 PM

Help in instruction of a young beginner

Hey everyone,

I might be teaching a young (7-8 year old) boy in the near future.

He's a complete beginner, and I was hoping to get some tips and possible drills/ things to definitely remember to show him during the first few lessons.

For example, proper stance, grip, etc.

Any good beginner games are also welcome (such as mini-tennis).

I guess my general question would be, what things should I focus on teaching such a young player?

Please feel free to offer any advice/experience you may have as well!

Thanks in advance! :)

Koz 08-29-2007 03:53 PM

I'd show him a forehand grip and a backhand grip, but don't spend too much time on it at first. Just make sure his hands are somewhere in the general vicinity of where they should be. Many beginners don't even hold the right part of the handle. Keep his hands near the butt, unless his racquet is too long or heavy for him. Spend more time on the stroke itself. Make sure he turns sideways, perpendicular to the net, and takes the racquet back low below the path of the ball. Try and emphasize hitting the ball out in front, (start him off sideways, tell him to hit the ball out by his front foot) and make sure the follow through comes up nice and high at the end. You're gonna have to just get a feel for the kid. If you can sense that he's really into learning this stuff, you can get more technical and pound the details in a bit more. The challenge is the keep the kid entertained and having fun. If they aren't having fun, they won't focus/listen, and won't retain anything you say!