Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   USTA League Noob.. What should I know? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=176759)

Serve em Up 01-22-2008 08:25 AM

USTA League Noob.. What should I know?

I'm playing in my first USTA league event tonight. It's mixed doubles league . I've never done this before. I self -rated to sign up.

Until now I've only played at the club and with my kids. I don't really have a feel for what the quality of play will be. I'm afraid I self-rated too low. What happens if I'm in the wrong level league. Do I just not play? Can I be disqualified. I have no experience playing anyone with a computer rating so I have no clue.

I'm looking forward to gettig a real idea of my level. I intend to play Men's singles and doubles in the spring.

I've talked too some that say it's great and I've met a few noce people that quit because they said a lot of players were over competitive jerks.

What can I expect.

tfm1973 01-22-2008 08:45 AM

for me anyway - the number of great people outnumber the jerks 20 to 1. i've met some fantastic people playing league tennis both on my teams and as opponents. if you self-rated too low -- you'll win a lot and then get bumped up. or you will find some sneaky captains trying to recruit you. ;)

goober 01-22-2008 09:26 AM

The most important thing to do for a good experience is to get on to a team that fits what you are looking for. There are teams built to win at all costs-mandatory practices, best players get to play, if you lose a lot you sit, ect.
Then there are teams that are completely social where there are no practices, everybody plays and you go out and have drink afterwards. There are all kinds of variations in between. Find a good group of guys that fit.