Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Health & Fitness (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Schedule for weight training and........ (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=188641)

tnkGod4tns 03-28-2008 06:07 PM

Schedule for weight training and........

tennis?? I have been lifting weights for about 20 years now, just can't get a good schedule of weight training and tennis. I know I don't want to play tennis after lifting. How do you guys schedule your tennis and weights without feeling sluggish on the court. I usually lift 3 times a week and split the muscle groups (chest and triceps, back and biceps, shoulder and legs). Thinking about condensing the lifting to 2 times a week so I can have recovery time for tennis. Thanks.

hewittfan3 03-28-2008 06:53 PM

I kind of just do it whenever. I dont really notice it much when I play tennis. This could be because I'm probably a little younger so i might have more recoverey time.

But I would think if you took a day break in between your workout and playing tennis that it would help a little bit. Hope I could help a little?

redsoxrock930 03-28-2008 09:52 PM

if i were you i might put shoulder in with chest, make biceps and triceps their own day, back its own day and legs its own day. however, i don't know if you have time for this

Rickson 03-28-2008 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tnkGod4tns (Post 2200522)
tennis?? I have been lifting weights for about 20 years now, just can't get a good schedule of weight training and tennis. I know I don't want to play tennis after lifting. How do you guys schedule your tennis and weights without feeling sluggish on the court. I usually lift 3 times a week and split the muscle groups (chest and triceps, back and biceps, shoulder and legs). Thinking about condensing the lifting to 2 times a week so I can have recovery time for tennis. Thanks.