Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Junior League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Parents Being Waaaay too cheap. (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=226318)

S H O W S T O P P E R ! 10-13-2008 03:21 PM

Parents Being Waaaay too cheap.

I'm an assistant coach for the local park district lessons for the 5-8 year old group. I teach the lefties; we have a lot and the main pro has no clue how to teach them. There's a really talented kid in my group, he has a nasty forehand and he has massive topspin.

But I noticed he's playing with jean shorts, a ratty old sleeveless that's got holes in it and old sneakers. He also has a Spongebob racket, which deeply concerns me. And this kid isn't coming from a poor family, his dad is a highly rated chef and his mom a banker. I think that if this kid gets some new threads and a good stick, he could be unstoppable in USTA tourneys. I don't want to sound like a jerk, but how should I tell his dad to buy the kid some new stuff?

MomentumGT 10-13-2008 03:34 PM

I've dealt with a similar situation except the kid I was teaching wasn't very exceptional, just determined and a hard work ethic, and it was more of keeping him out of trouble and not getting involve with gang life and drugs.

What I did was talk this kid up to his parents, saying he has a lot of potential that, with hard work and "support" from his parents can go far in the sport. As I was saying this I would interject every now and then about getting him better equipment to further "enhance" his progression as a "positive" selling point. :). Remember, be subtle about it but make sure you get it in the back of their head and pretty soon you'll see new sticks and shoes in his hands.