Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   College Tennis Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   How much time is really available? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=251952)

RidiculousForm 03-23-2009 06:38 PM

How much time is really available?

Seeing as I'm going to be entering my senior year at college this fall, and then heading out to possibly the real world... I was wondering... with a full time job, how much time do you normally get to the courts and practice / play? Is it difficult to find a training partner in your area? How expensive are the courts? Do any of you have your own court on your property? How do tournaments mesh with your work schedule?

Thanks all! Since I started playing tennis seriously so late in my tennis-life, I figured I'd make it my goal to play at some high end events in higher age brackets perhaps, once I have a decade under my belt :P

LeeD 03-24-2009 08:55 AM

If you refuse to allow time for tennis, then your game will never be anywhere near "high level".
Takes most good athletes, men, at least 4 years to break into the 4.5 levels, and that is practicing 4 hours a day, 5 days a week.
Any less, and you will never make 4.5 levels.
If work is so important that you can't make time for tennis, well, you have chosen your priorities, so live with it.

randomname 04-06-2009 06:16 AM

How does that in ANY WAY whatsoever answer his question?

origmarm 04-06-2009 07:33 AM

The short answer is it's going to depend on what job you do. At the moment I'm lucky if I get to play tennis any other time except weekends and then if I get two hours I'm doing well.

The other thing to consider is that court access etc...is going to be more expensive during the times you are free i.e. evenings and weekends. Especially during winter when covered space is at a premium (depending on where you live of course).