Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Health & Fitness (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Please Give Me Tips For Getting Over My Elbow Tendinitis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=263690)

Visceral 05-27-2009 02:10 PM

Please Give Me Tips For Getting Over My Elbow Tendinitis

I have golfer's elbow, also known as medial epicondylitis.

I had wrist surgery last September, and when I started playing again I developed golfer's elbow. I have no been struggling with it for four months. I have taken several two-week long breaks, only to have pain again when I come back on the tennis court. I have now come to the conclusion that I need at least a month or more away from tennis for this problem to heal.

I'm posting on here to get some information from users about how they overcame golfer's elbow (or tennis elbow). This is what I'm currently doing: I wear tennis elbow neoprene sleeve during the day and while I sleep; I apply ice directly to the sore spot with ice frozen in dixie cups; I apply cold with a cold wrap brace; and I massage it myself periodically. I received a cortisone injection two weeks ago, but that did not seem to give me any pain relief. Please give me any suggestions and tips that will help me get over my golfer's elbow.

I also have some questions:
- Will doing upper body weightlifting exercises that don't cause pain in my elbow prolong the healing process? (I realize that certain triceps exercises hurt so I avoid these completely, but I have been doing other exercises that don't hurt.)
- Is acupuncture worth the money for this condition?
- Is physical therapy necessary?
- What kind of things do I need to avoid? (besides the things that cause me obvious pain)

Thank you very much for your help!

Visceral 05-27-2009 02:14 PM

One More Thing