Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Health & Fitness (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   When is it too cold to play outside? (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=292444)

tennytive 10-10-2009 05:02 AM

When is it too cold to play outside?

Are there any polar bear tennis clubs?

I started playing with a bunch of guys here in the Chicago area who say they show up until the snow starts to fly. We only play once a week, so I hate to miss out, especially since it's so close to shutting it down for the winter.

This is doubles, so it's not like we're killing ourselves out there, but I'm already playing with nagging injuries as it is, and wonder if I could make things worse by not being smart about the weather. Then again, maybe it's no big deal.

I do remember playing in November once many years back, but that was a relatively warm day. But swimming in the lake afterwards was no bargain. Significant shrinkage…

charliefedererer 10-10-2009 05:50 AM

Look.
People enjoy all sorts of winter sports even though it is really cold outside.
So there is no reason not to play tennis on a cold day, as long as the court is in good condition.
I play right down to 32 degrees. There should be plenty of afternoons in Chicago when the temperature gets that high over the next few months.
Warm up beforehand with a little jog around the court, some agility drills, practice swings, a reasonably long pre match rally and try to keeps the game moving.