Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Forgot to ask this! My opponent tossed the ball on a serve... (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=329631)

GoSurfBoy 05-24-2010 08:42 PM

Forgot to ask this! My opponent tossed the ball on a serve...
 
...and he decided not to hit it (windy), and as he ducked, the ball hit him on the way down...

Decision? Is that like me getting hit on the fly? Is that considered 'in play', or?

Just curious, as I beat him anyway, but was just wondering about this.

Thanks

SoBad 05-24-2010 08:46 PM

he gets first serve by the rules, is that what the decision was?

GoSurfBoy 05-24-2010 09:01 PM

Never questioned it. I was just kind of curious that he threw the ball in the air, and it bounced off his back on the way down.

And that made me wonder if that was considered an 'in play' type of scenario?

I didn't care. I'm never going to call anything like that save blatant cheating (and I'm always like if I can't make an instant decision on a line call, then it's good, and if not 100% certain it's out, then it's good).

It just made me wonder what a decision would have been if the roving ump' had seen it.

HunterST 05-24-2010 09:04 PM

Nope. As long as you don't swing at it the ball can touch you.

GoSurfBoy 05-24-2010 09:14 PM

Cool. Thanks. I'd never seen it happen, so I was just wondering....

woodrow1029 05-24-2010 10:31 PM

It would be the same as if he were to just catch it on the racket or in his hand. As long as he doesn't make an attempt to hit the serve, it's not a fault.

However, if he swung and missed completely, it would be a fault.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse