Talk Tennis

Talk Tennis (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php)
-   Adult League & Tournament Talk (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Opponent used two different rackets (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=334384)

jtrom 06-21-2010 10:07 AM

Opponent used two different rackets
 
I did a quick search to see if there was a thread on this in the past and didn't turn up anything.

So during a 3.5 singles tourney event this past weekend. My first round opponent used two different rackets, one during serve games and one during return games. At the end of each game, even if there wasn't a change of sides, he would quickly run and switch out the rackets. This was the first time I had ever seen this before. We had a good close match that he ended up winning. At first, I was just slightly annoyed, but as the match kept going it became increasingly annoying. It was like he was invoking some advantage by having a different racket set up that enhanced serves that I wasn't capitalizing on and therefore getting beat. He seemed to play exactly the same way no matter which racket he had, as his serves weren't that tough to handle. Most of the points ended up in rallies anyways.

I stuck around after our match to see if he would do it again, and sure enough, he was out there switching rackets during his 2nd match.

Is this common/against the rules/should I be doing it??? Does anyone out there also use different rackets within the same match??

Larrysümmers 06-21-2010 10:13 AM

its legal. he had one probably leaded up different or string difference that he felt let him serve better, or he switched off to preserve his overgrip or strings.
you shouldnt worry about him changing his gear around, you should work on your game and careless about the opponents gear

goober 06-21-2010 10:18 AM

Not against the rules to switch racquets. I once played a guy in a tournament that used 4 different racquets. I asked him about it and he told me they were all demos and he was in the process of switching racquets. A tournament is an odd time to demo- but hey whatever- it is his choice. He even gave me his thoughts on the racquets on changeovers-lol:) He didn't seem to be too concerned about actually winning the match which I thought was pretty funny.

JoelDali 06-21-2010 10:24 AM

Highly illegal, this cannot go unpunished.

The arrogance of these players using 1, 4, or even 19 raquets is despicably disgusting.

JavierLW 06-21-2010 10:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jtrom (Post 4784868)
I did a quick search to see if there was a thread on this in the past and didn't turn up anything.

So during a 3.5 singles tourney event this past weekend. My first round opponent used two different rackets, one during serve games and one during return games. At the end of each game, even if there wasn't a change of sides, he would quickly run and switch out the rackets. This was the first time I had ever seen this before. We had a good close match that he ended up winning. At first, I was just slightly annoyed, but as the match kept going it became increasingly annoying. It was like he was invoking some advantage by having a different racket set up that enhanced serves that I wasn't capitalizing on and therefore getting beat. He seemed to play exactly the same way no matter which racket he had, as his serves weren't that tough to handle. Most of the points ended up in rallies anyways.

I stuck around after our match to see if he would do it again, and sure enough, he was out there switching rackets during his 2nd match.

Is this common/against the rules/should I be doing it??? Does anyone out there also use different rackets within the same match??

I do this in doubles. (just use one racquet when I serve)

I also saw Almagro do it in one of the major's before he got his sponsorship.

It's funny though, if he was doing it for some sort of silly perceived advantage then I guess it worked because it sounds like you let it get to you.

Maybe you should worry more about your own game then worrying about whatever nonsense advantage your opponent seems to think they are getting...

Cindysphinx 06-21-2010 10:38 AM

I change rackets (I carry two). I don't do it all that frequently during a match, and I usually do it if one overgrip feels slippery. I will change more on hot days or in singles.

I remember one match where I just couldn't seem to get any directional control on my serve. I changed my racket at love 30. I held and served well after that. Go figure.

Cindy -- who always puts the extra racket back in her bag rather than leave it lying around because she is absent-minded enough to go home without it

gameboy 06-21-2010 10:56 AM

Seriously, if my opponent did that during my match, I would not have noticed. I am too busy concentrating on my own game. I couldn't tell you what color shirt he was wearing 30 min after the match.

Kostas 06-21-2010 11:02 AM

I do this religiously.

I sweat like crazy and use switch for my service games for the dry grip. Everything about the racquets are exactly the same but one's grip is dryer than the other for my serves.

bodieq 06-21-2010 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jtrom (Post 4784868)
I did a quick search to see if there was a thread on this in the past and didn't turn up anything.

So during a 3.5 singles tourney event this past weekend. My first round opponent used two different rackets, one during serve games and one during return games. At the end of each game, even if there wasn't a change of sides, he would quickly run and switch out the rackets. This was the first time I had ever seen this before. We had a good close match that he ended up winning. At first, I was just slightly annoyed, but as the match kept going it became increasingly annoying. It was like he was invoking some advantage by having a different racket set up that enhanced serves that I wasn't capitalizing on and therefore getting beat. He seemed to play exactly the same way no matter which racket he had, as his serves weren't that tough to handle. Most of the points ended up in rallies anyways.

I stuck around after our match to see if he would do it again, and sure enough, he was out there switching rackets during his 2nd match.

Is this common/against the rules/should I be doing it??? Does anyone out there also use different rackets within the same match??


It's not against the rules. I'm not sure why you even let that bother you. Maybe you need to learn to concentrate better on your own game and the match itself without being distracted by nonsensical things like this.

Personally, I have 5 of the same racquets, same string type, same string gauge, same tension, same lead-tape set-ups, etc. This way, in a tournament if I break a string and/or feel like rotating racquets there's no transitional adjustments (whether in reality or in my head). ....But most importantly, I don't give a sh*t what racquets my opponents are using...ever.

ProgressoR 06-21-2010 01:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kostas (Post 4785049)
I do this religiously.

I sweat like crazy and use switch for my service games for the dry grip. Everything about the racquets are exactly the same but one's grip is dryer than the other for my serves.

Assuming your service games are roughly as long as other games, how come serving racket has a dryer grip? is it a different material? idontgeddit.

Kostas 06-21-2010 01:05 PM

I play mostly doubles...so the game ratio is 3 to 1 usually....and if I happen to play singles, picking up a stick that's been sitting/drying for a few minutes is usually better than the sweat-slopped stick that's been in my hands for the same amount of time.

RogerRacket111 06-21-2010 01:16 PM

Nothing wrong with doing this. Not against rules. More power to him. Probably likes to serve with one and return with another. I have been through this phase and done the same.

Geezer Guy 06-21-2010 01:41 PM

You can only use one racquet PER POINT, but you can switch between points as often as you like. (So, for instance, if a string breaks mid-point you cannot switch racquets and continue with that point. But you can switch racquets once the point is over. The exception would be if you break a string on a first serve that's out - you can switch racquets for the 2nd serve.)

Anyway, I change racquets every change-over. My 2 racquets are identical - the change just lets me get one with a dryer grip.

Steady Eddy 06-21-2010 08:47 PM

Sounds like racketeering.

ProgressoR 06-22-2010 10:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Geezer Guy (Post 4785716)
You can only use one racquet PER POINT, but you can switch between points as often as you like. (So, for instance, if a string breaks mid-point you cannot switch racquets and continue with that point. But you can switch racquets once the point is over. The exception would be if you break a string on a first serve that's out - you can switch racquets for the 2nd serve.)

Anyway, I change racquets every change-over. My 2 racquets are identical - the change just lets me get one with a dryer grip.

what?? you mean i have been carrying that spare racket strapped to my back just for this scenario, and its a waste of time??

ProgressoR 06-22-2010 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kostas (Post 4785528)
I play mostly doubles...so the game ratio is 3 to 1 usually....and if I happen to play singles, picking up a stick that's been sitting/drying for a few minutes is usually better than the sweat-slopped stick that's been in my hands for the same amount of time.

aha! logical explanation -thanks

ProgressoR 06-22-2010 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steady Eddy (Post 4786948)
Sounds like racketeering.

Very good.

And I have now acheived the feat of 3 consecutive posts in a thread that is not mine.

bodieq 06-22-2010 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ProgressoR (Post 4788698)
what?? you mean i have been carrying that spare racket strapped to my back just for this scenario, and its a waste of time??

Great stuff!! This literally made me bust out laughing uncontrollably. And now my secretary and various underpaid subordinates outside my office think I'm some kind of weirdo...

subban 06-22-2010 11:25 AM

Not against the rules but he can't do it every game. It has to be done on a changeover or every other game.

LuckyR 06-22-2010 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jtrom (Post 4784868)
I did a quick search to see if there was a thread on this in the past and didn't turn up anything.

So during a 3.5 singles tourney event this past weekend. My first round opponent used two different rackets, one during serve games and one during return games. At the end of each game, even if there wasn't a change of sides, he would quickly run and switch out the rackets. This was the first time I had ever seen this before. We had a good close match that he ended up winning. At first, I was just slightly annoyed, but as the match kept going it became increasingly annoying. It was like he was invoking some advantage by having a different racket set up that enhanced serves that I wasn't capitalizing on and therefore getting beat. He seemed to play exactly the same way no matter which racket he had, as his serves weren't that tough to handle. Most of the points ended up in rallies anyways.

I stuck around after our match to see if he would do it again, and sure enough, he was out there switching rackets during his 2nd match.

Is this common/against the rules/should I be doing it??? Does anyone out there also use different rackets within the same match??


Yes, if you run up against someone as easily annoyed as you were, it would be a great tactical move.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse